Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

LRL Home - Legislation - Legislative archive system - Advanced search - Search results - Bill details

Bill details Help  |  Status

HB 39, 75th R.S.
Relating to a prohibition of discrimination in the determination of eligibility for employment, occupational licenses, and coverage under certain health benefit plans based on the use of certain genetic tests and to limitations on the use of information derived from those tests; providing an administrative penalty.

Last action: Effective on 9/1/97

Author: Brian McCall
Joint Author: Leticia Van de Putte | Patricia Gray | Sherri Greenberg | Burt Solomons
Sponsor: Judith Zaffirini

Remarks: HCR 302 allows for technical corrections.

Session Law Chapter:
Acts 1997, 75th R.S.,ch. 1215, General and Special Laws of Texas


SB 98 (Similar)

Bill Analyses:
Committee Report (House Research Organization)
Enrolled (Senate Research Center)
Engrossed (Senate Research Center)
Committee Report (Senate Research Center)

Conference Committee:

House Members: (appointed 05/19/1997) Brian McCall (Chair) | Patricia Gray | Kyle Janek | Bill Roman | Leticia Van de Putte |

Senate Members: (appointed 05/21/1997) Judith Zaffirini (Chair) | Mike Moncrief | Florence Shapiro | Eliot Shapleigh | David Sibley |

Human Relations
Insurance--Life, Health & Accident
Occupational Regulation--Health Occupations
Occupational Regulation--Other Trades & Professions

House Committee: Economic Development (Rene Oliveira, Sherri Greenberg, Jim Keffer, Vilma Luna, Richard Raymond, Gene Seaman, Bill Siebert, Leticia Van de Putte, Ken Yarbrough)
Minutes: February 25 1997 | February 27 1997 | March 11 1997
House Committee: Subcommittee on HB 39 (Leticia Van de Putte, Sherri Greenberg, Bill Siebert)
Senate Committee: Economic Development (David Sibley, David Cain, Robert Duncan, Rodney Ellis, Chris Harris, Tom Haywood, Eddie Lucio, Jr., Frank Madla, Jerry Patterson, Florence Shapiro, Eliot Shapleigh)

Texas Legislature Online

The Legislative Archive System is a work in progress. Complete information is not available for all bills and all sessions. Visit the Legislative Archive System status page for details. Please contact the Legislative Reference Library at 512-463-1252 if you have any questions. Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.