Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

LRL Home - Legislation - Legislative archive system - Advanced search - Search results - Bill details

Bill details Help  |  Status

HB 938, 76th R.S.
Relating to the investigation and prosecution of an offense motivated by bias or prejudice and to other remedies for and protections against certain hateful acts.

Last action: Failed to receive affirmative vote in comm.

Author: Senfronia Thompson
Joint Author: Pat Haggerty | Debra Danburg | Robert Puente | Scott Hochberg
Coauthor: Joe Deshotel | Harryette Ehrhardt | Rick Noriega | Ruth McClendon | Elliott Naishtat | Kino Flores | Glenn Lewis | John Longoria | Vilma Luna | Garnet Coleman | Glen Maxey | Terri Hodge | Kevin Bailey | Joe Moreno | Carlos Uresti | Jim Solis | Jaime Capelo | Jessica Farrar | Leticia Van de Putte | Norma Chavez | Dora Olivo | Manny Najera | Dawnna Dukes | Henry Cuellar | Roberto Gutierrez | Domingo Garcia | Juan Hinojosa | Juan Solis | Tommy Merritt | Sylvester Turner | Harold V. Dutton, Jr. | Helen Giddings | Ignacio Salinas Jr. | Irma Rangel | Ken Yarbrough | Yvonne Davis | Joseph Pickett | Lon Burnam | Sherri Greenberg | Leo Alvarado | Paul Sadler | Delwin Jones | Jesse Jones | Paul Moreno | Miguel Wise | Dale Tillery | Craig Eiland | Steven Wolens | Zeb Zbranek | Rene Oliveira | Arthur Reyna | Patricia Gray | Dan Ellis | Jim Dunnam
Sponsor: Rodney Ellis


SB 275 (Identical)

Bill Analyses:
Committee Report (House Research Organization)
Engrossed (Senate Research Center)
Introduced (Office of House Bill Analysis)
Committee Report (Office of House Bill Analysis)

Civil Remedies & Liabilities
Crimes--Against Persons--General

House Committee: Judicial Affairs (Senfronia Thompson, Jaime Capelo, Joe Deshotel, Domingo Garcia, Will Hartnett, Juan Hinojosa, John Shields, Jim Solis, Carlos Uresti)
Minutes: March 11 1999
Senate Committee: Criminal Justice (Kenneth Armbrister, Robert Duncan, Mike Jackson, Jane Nelson, Florence Shapiro, Royce West, John Whitmire)
Minutes: May 6 1999 | May 13 1999

Texas Legislature Online

The Legislative Archive System is a work in progress. Complete information is not available for all bills and all sessions. Visit the Legislative Archive System status page for details. Please contact the Legislative Reference Library at 512-463-1252 if you have any questions. Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.