Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overview

House Committee on Federal Legislation, Select - 81st R.S. (2009)

Committee Members
John Zerwas, Chair
Garnet Coleman, Vice Chair
Dan Branch
Warren Chisum
Ellen Cohen
Donna Howard
Susan Lewis King
Lois W. Kolkhorst
Trey Martinez Fischer
Tommy Merritt
Geanie Morrison
Elliott Naishtat
Solomon P. Ortiz, Jr.
Tara Rios Ybarra
Mark Shelton
  • review and monitor significant pending federal legislation to the extent such legislation preempts state authority. In addition, the committee shall monitor the implementation of unfunded mandates, including those that could violate the federal Unfunded Mandates Reform Act of 1995. The committee's work should include monitoring Congress's health care reform efforts and their potential impact on the state's health care system, health insurance regulation statutes and policies, Medicaid and children's health insurance programs, eligibility system, workforce recruitment and retention, and health care financing mechanisms.

Established under Rule 1, Section 16 (Proclamation, Speaker Joe Straus, 1/12/2010).

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.