Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index

Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

Legislative clips Legislative clips archive Texas media links Current articles Texshare databases New books New & Noteworthy
Legislative Archive System Index to Sections Affected Conference committee reports Constitutional amendments Vetoes State budget Redistricting information Signed copies of bills Statutory revision Texas law timeline Water law timeline Statute publication dates Legislative intent guide
Texas Legislators: Past & Present Governors of Texas Lt. Governors and Speakers Senate Presidents Pro Tempore Senate & House seniority Member statistics Chief Elected Officials Texas legislators on Twitter
Sessions and years Bill statistics Member statistics Bill effective dates Legislative deadlines Session summaries Special sessions Legislative staff lists
Today's meetings Meetings by date Standing committees Committees by session Committee search Legislative reports Committee minutes Standing committee appointments
Library catalog House & Senate Journals House & Senate Rules Parliamentary resources General and Special Laws of Texas Codes of 1856 Paschal's Digest Penal Code revision research guide Code of Criminal Procedure guide Deceptive Trade Practices Act Impeachment of O.P. Carrillo Gubernatorial inauguration materials Water resources research guide School finance litigation archive
Frequently Asked Questions Contacting your legislator Texas bill status State agency hotlines & citizen   assistance Texas legislative agencies &   process Other libraries Public policy resources

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overviewprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

House Committee on Health Services - 67th R.S. (1981)

Committee Members
Ron Wilson, Chair
Walter B. Grubbs, Vice Chair
Charles Finnell, Chair - Budget & Oversight
Bennie Bock II
Arnold Gonzales
David B. 'Bubba' London
Frank Madla
René O. Oliveira
Hector Uribe
Brad Wright
• Investigate the problems of alcohol addiction and drug abuse among youth.
• Oversight functions shall be conducted for all appropriations-related actions of those agencies assigned to this committee for appropriative purposes during the 67th Regular Session of the Legislature. In addition, a study should be made of the impact of any federal cuts, and the differences in the operational aspect of the agencies under block vs. categorical grants. Close scrutiny should be given to each agency to ascertain if legislative intent is being carried out in the rules promulgated by the agency and if the rules are feasible and practical in their application. These agencies include:
Department of Health
Department of Mental Health and Mental Retardation
Governor's Commission on Physical Fitness
Health Facilities Commission
Texas Commission on Alcoholism
Board of Morticians
Texas Board of Chiropractic Examiners
Texas Board of Examiners in the Fitting and Dispensing of Hearing Aids
Board of Nurse Examiners
Texas Optometry Board
State Board of Pharmacy
Texas Board of Physical Therapy Examiners
Texas Board of Podiatry Examiners
Texas State Board of Examiners of Psychologists
State Board of Dental Examiners
State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners and
Texas State Board of Medical Examiners.
• Study the operations of the Health Systems Agencies in Texas.
• Examine California's statutes relating to freedom of choice in selecting health care services and providers and determine if similar changes should be made in Texas' statutes.
• Coordinate efforts with the Joint Committee on Autistic Citizens to develop possible alternatives to institutionalization of mentally retarded and autistic persons.
• Monitor the activities and progress of the programs designed to provide aid to veterans suffering from Agent Orange. Look at number of veterans served, percentages with abnormalities, costs, etc.
• Study the impact of pesticides on health in Texas.
• Study the proposed construction of the Houston Psychiatric Hospital.

Hector Uribe was elected to the Senate in a special election held on February 24, 1981. He did not resign from the House by letter, but when he took the oath of office in the Senate on March 31, 1981.

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.