Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index

Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

Legislative clips Legislative clips archive Texas media links Current articles Texshare databases New books New & Noteworthy
Legislative Archive System Index to Sections Affected Conference committee reports Constitutional amendments Vetoes State budget Redistricting information Signed copies of bills Statutory revision Texas law timeline Water law timeline Statute publication dates Legislative intent guide
Texas Legislators: Past & Present Governors of Texas Lt. Governors and Speakers Senate Presidents Pro Tempore Senate & House seniority Member statistics Chief Elected Officials Texas legislators on Twitter
Sessions and years Bill statistics Member statistics Bill effective dates Legislative deadlines Session summaries Special sessions Legislative staff lists
Today's meetings Meetings by date Standing committees Committees by session Committee search Legislative reports Committee minutes Standing committee appointments
Library catalog House & Senate Journals House & Senate Rules Parliamentary resources General and Special Laws of Texas Codes of 1856 Paschal's Digest Penal Code revision research guide Code of Criminal Procedure guide Deceptive Trade Practices Act Impeachment of O.P. Carrillo Gubernatorial inauguration materials Water resources research guide School finance litigation archive
Frequently Asked Questions Contacting your legislator Texas bill status State agency hotlines & citizen   assistance Texas legislative agencies &   process Other libraries Public policy resources

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overviewprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

Senate Committee on Jurisprudence - 65th R.S. (1977)

Committee Members
A.R. 'Babe' Schwartz, Chair
Bill Meier, Vice Chair
Don Adams
Roy Blake, Sr.
Bill Braecklein
Lloyd Doggett
Ray Farabee
Gene Jones
Raul L. Longoria
Oscar Mauzy
Walter Mengden
Carl Parker
Bob Price
H. Tati Santiesteban
Max Sherman
• Study the advisability of establishing community-based programs and facilities in this state as an additional alternative to incarceration in the state prison.
• Study, assess, and evaluate the dangers posed by railroad grade crossings.
• Conduct a study of product safety and liability problems in the State of Texas.
• Study the court administration in Texas. Recommend ways to make the court system more efficient and effective.*
• Study the adequacy of current laws to prevent the abuse of power by peace officers.*

The railroad crossing charge is from SR 793, 65th Legislature, Regular Session. The product liability charge is from SR 796, 65th Legislature, Regular Session. The community-based corrections charge is from SR 124, 65th Legislature, 2nd Called Session.
Don Adams (Member) resigned 12/31/1977.
Max Sherman (Member) resigned 9/2/1977.
Bob Price (Member) appointed January 30, 1978. (Press Release from Bill Hobby, Lieutenant Governor of Texas, January 30, 1978. See Senate Press Memos & Appts. 1977-78, L1803.1 P926 1977-78.)
Roy Blake (Member) appointed March 15, 1978. (Press Release from Bill Hobby, Lieutenant Governor of Texas, March 15, 1978. See Senate Press Memos & Appts. 1977-78, L1803.1 P926 1977-78.)

* This represents an abstract of the report contents. Charge text is incomplete or unavailable.

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.