Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index

Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

Legislative clips Legislative clips archive Texas media links Current articles Texshare databases New books New & Noteworthy
Legislative Archive System Index to Sections Affected Conference committee reports Constitutional amendments Vetoes State budget Redistricting information Signed copies of bills Statutory revision Texas law timeline Water law timeline Statute publication dates Legislative intent guide
Texas Legislators: Past & Present Governors of Texas Lt. Governors and Speakers Senate Presidents Pro Tempore Senate & House seniority Member statistics Chief Elected Officials Texas legislators on Twitter
Sessions and years Bill statistics Member statistics Bill effective dates Legislative deadlines Session summaries Special sessions Legislative staff lists
Today's meetings Meetings by date Standing committees Committees by session Committee search Legislative reports Committee minutes Standing committee appointments
Library catalog House & Senate Journals House & Senate Rules Parliamentary resources General and Special Laws of Texas Codes of 1856 Paschal's Digest Penal Code revision research guide Code of Criminal Procedure guide Deceptive Trade Practices Act Impeachment of O.P. Carrillo Gubernatorial inauguration materials Water resources research guide School finance litigation archive
Frequently Asked Questions Contacting your legislator Texas bill status State agency hotlines & citizen   assistance Texas legislative agencies &   process Other libraries Public policy resources

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overviewprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

House Committee on Judiciary - 63rd R.S. (1973)

Committee Members
L. DeWitt Hale, Chair
Ben Z. Grant, Vice Chair
Andrew Z. Baker
Larry Bales
Ronald D. Coleman
C.C. 'Kit' Cooke
Woody Denson
Jerry 'Nub' Donaldson
Charles Evans
Matt Garcia
W.S. 'Bill' Heatly
Don Henderson
Samuel Hudson III
Gene Jones
Robert 'Bob' Maloney
James Nowlin
Wayne Peveto
Pike Powers
Renal B. Rosson
Bill Sullivant
James S. 'Jim' Vecchio
Larry Vick
Craig A. Washington
• Continue the comprehensive study of the judicial system of the state, such study to include a comprehensive review of present procedures, case loads, and statistics of all courts, civil and criminal, in the state.
• Include in its study a comprehensive review of the structure, organization, procedures, and administration of the state judicial system and develop extensive programs for comprehensive judicial reform, directed toward improvements in the administration of justice through constitutional and statutory revision.
• Complete a Judicial Code to organize and govern the judicial branch of government in anticipation of the adoption by the Texas electorate of a new judiciary article to the Texas Constitution.
• Undertake a study of the administrative procedures utilized in the agencies of the State of Texas and promulgate recommendations for an administrative procedure act.

Interim charges by HSR 96.

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.