Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index

Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

Legislative clips Legislative clips archive Texas media links Current articles Texshare databases New books New & Noteworthy
Legislative Archive System Index to Sections Affected Conference committee reports Constitutional amendments Vetoes State budget Redistricting information Signed copies of bills Statutory revision Texas law timeline Water law timeline Statute publication dates Legislative intent guide
Texas Legislators: Past & Present Governors of Texas Lt. Governors and Speakers Senate Presidents Pro Tempore Senate & House seniority Member statistics Chief Elected Officials Texas legislators on Twitter
Sessions and years Bill statistics Member statistics Bill effective dates Legislative deadlines Session summaries Special sessions Legislative staff lists
Today's meetings Meetings by date Standing committees Committees by session Committee search Legislative reports Committee minutes Standing committee appointments
Library catalog House & Senate Journals House & Senate Rules Parliamentary resources General and Special Laws of Texas Codes of 1856 Paschal's Digest Penal Code revision research guide Code of Criminal Procedure guide Deceptive Trade Practices Act Impeachment of O.P. Carrillo Gubernatorial inauguration materials Water resources research guide School finance litigation archive
Frequently Asked Questions Contacting your legislator Texas bill status State agency hotlines & citizen   assistance Texas legislative agencies &   process Other libraries Public policy resources

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overviewprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

House Committee on Labor - 65th R.S. (1977)

Committee Members
W.J. 'Bill' Blythe, Jr., Chair
Eddie Bernice Johnson, Chair
Andrew Z. Baker, Vice Chair
Henry E. Allee
John W. Bryant
Lanell Cofer
Frank Collazo, Jr.
Joe Hernandez
Paul Moreno
Ed R. Watson
• An evaluation of the effectiveness of state law to regulate the activities of labor agents, including the Department of Labor and Standards' ability to effectively enforce the law.
• An analysis of the Texas Merit System Council which is under the Texas Employment Commission, focusing on the Council's interpretation and implementation of the Federal Civil Service Commission's regulations.
• Oversight responsibility of agency expenditures and related transactions. This function shall encompass a review and monitoring of all appropriations-related actions of those agencies assigned to this committee for appropriative purposes during the 66th Regular Session of the Legislature, to wit:
Department of Labor and Standards
Texas Employment Commission

Eddie Bernice Johnson (Chair) resigned 9/30/1977.
Bill Blythe promoted to committee chair October 1977. (Press Release from Bill Clayton, Speaker of the Texas House of Represenatives, October 7, 1977. See House Press Memos 1978, L1801.1 P926 1978.)
Lanell Cofer (Member) appointed 12/16/1977. (Memorandum from Bill Clayton, Speaker of the Texas House of Represenatives, December 16, 1977. See House Press Memos 1978, L1801.1 P926 1978.)

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.