Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index

Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

Legislative clips Legislative clips archive Texas media links Current articles Texshare databases New books New & Noteworthy
Legislative Archive System Index to Sections Affected Conference committee reports Constitutional amendments Vetoes State budget Redistricting information Signed copies of bills Statutory revision Texas law timeline Water law timeline Statute publication dates Legislative intent guide
Texas Legislators: Past & Present Governors of Texas Lt. Governors and Speakers Senate Presidents Pro Tempore Senate & House seniority Member statistics Chief Elected Officials Texas legislators on Twitter
Sessions and years Bill statistics Member statistics Bill effective dates Legislative deadlines Session summaries Special sessions Legislative staff lists
Today's meetings Meetings by date Standing committees Committees by session Committee search Legislative reports Committee minutes Standing committee appointments
Library catalog House & Senate Journals House & Senate Rules Parliamentary resources General and Special Laws of Texas Codes of 1856 Paschal's Digest Penal Code revision research guide Code of Criminal Procedure guide Deceptive Trade Practices Act Impeachment of O.P. Carrillo Gubernatorial inauguration materials Water resources research guide School finance litigation archive
Frequently Asked Questions Contacting your legislator Texas bill status State agency hotlines & citizen   assistance Texas legislative agencies &   process Other libraries Public policy resources

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overviewprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

House Committee on Judicial Affairs - 65th R.S. (1977)

Committee Members
Charles Evans, Chair
Senfronia Thompson, Vice Chair
Andrew Z. Baker
Jerry L. Benedict
Bill Blanton
Jim Browder
Jerry 'Nub' Donaldson
Tip Hall
E. Douglas McLeod
James Nowlin
Ben T. Reyes
John Whitmire
• Oversight responsibility of agency expenditures and related transactions. This function shall encompass a review and monitoring of all appropriations related actions of those agencies assigned to the committee for appropriative purposes during the 65th Regular Session of the Legislature, to wit:
Supreme Court of Texas,
Courts of Civil Appeals,
State Law Library,
Civil Judicial Council,
Judicial Qualifications Commission,
Judiciary Section of the Comptroller's Department,
State Bar,
Board of Law Examiners, and the
Prosecuting Attorneys Coordinating Council
• A study of the advisability of removing from the Constitution the defining of the jurisdiction of the courts, thus allowing the Legislature to alter their jurisdiction.
• A study of the operations, procedures and effectiveness of the existing municipal courts of record, and the desirability of the creation of more such courts.
• A study of the organization and operations of the State Bar.
• A study of the role of Criminal District Attorneys and County Attorneys who serve as District Attorneys, and the desirability of creating such offices.
• A study of the effectiveness of and the need for courts of limited jurisdiction including the Court of Criminal Appeals and the civil appellate courts.

Jim Browder (Member) resigned from the Committee on Judicial Affairs 2/22/1978. (Memorandum from Bill Clayton, Speaker of the Texas House of Represenatives, February 22, 1978. See House Press Memos 1978, L1801.1 P926 1978.)
Tip Hall (Member) appointed 5/1/1978. (Memorandum from Bill Clayton, Speaker of the Texas House of Represenatives, May 1, 1978. See House Press Memos 1978, L1801.1 P926 1978.)

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.