Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index

Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

Legislative clips Legislative clips archive Texas media links Current articles Texshare databases New books New & Noteworthy
Legislative Archive System Index to Sections Affected Conference committee reports Constitutional amendments Vetoes State budget Redistricting information Signed copies of bills Statutory revision Texas law timeline Water law timeline Statute publication dates Legislative intent guide
Texas Legislators: Past & Present Governors of Texas Lt. Governors and Speakers Senate Presidents Pro Tempore Senate & House seniority Member statistics Chief Elected Officials Texas legislators on Twitter
Sessions and years Bill statistics Member statistics Bill effective dates Legislative deadlines Session summaries Special sessions Legislative staff lists
Today's meetings Meetings by date Standing committees Committees by session Committee search Legislative reports Committee minutes Standing committee appointments
Library catalog House & Senate Journals House & Senate Rules Parliamentary resources General and Special Laws of Texas Codes of 1856 Paschal's Digest Penal Code revision research guide Code of Criminal Procedure guide Deceptive Trade Practices Act Impeachment of O.P. Carrillo Gubernatorial inauguration materials Water resources research guide School finance litigation archive
Frequently Asked Questions Contacting your legislator Texas bill status State agency hotlines & citizen   assistance Texas legislative agencies &   process Other libraries Public policy resources

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overviewprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

Senate Committee on Border Affairs, Special - 76th R.S. (1999)

Committee Members
Eddie Lucio, Chair
David Sibley, Vice Chair
Teel Bivins
Robert Duncan
Eliot Shapleigh
Carlos F. Truan
Judith Zaffirini
• Assess the long-term intermodal transportation needs of the Texas-Mexico Border Region to facilitate regional economic development, international trade and safety. The Committee shall address all modes of transportation, including highways, farm-to-market roads, turnpikes, mass transit, aviation, railroads and water traffic. The Committee shall also evaluate the planning and capacity resources of the three Texas Department of Transportation border districts and make recommendations, including alternative financing mechanisms, to expedite the flow of NAFTA-related commercial vehicle traffic.
The Committee shall consult and coordinate with the Senate Committee on State Affairs in developing recommendations concerning transportation linkages between the Border Region and statewide, national and international markets. Final preparation of transportation recommendations shall be the responsibility of the State Affairs Committee.
• Assess the Border Region's water and wastewater system infrastructure needs and the impact of the lack of adequate water and wastewater systems on health conditions along the Border. The Committee shall develop both short-term and long-term recommendations to address these infrastructure needs.
• Assess the health conditions in the Border Region, including childhood diseases and chronic health problems endemic to the Border such as diabetes and tuberculosis. Included in this assessment shall be an evaluation of the utilization of immunization and prevention programs and of collaborative efforts on common health issues between Texas and the Mexican Border States. The Committee shall develop health care strategies to improve Border health conditions and recommendations for their implementation.
• Develop economic development strategies for the Border Region to increase economic opportunity and the earning capacity of its residents through higher wage jobs. The strategies should assess the Region's post-NAFTA workforce training needs, as well as identify potential emerging industry clusters in the Border Region and the workforce requirements to support those industry clusters.
• Monitor the implementation of the following bills enacted during the 76th Legislature, Regular Session: SB 913, 76th Legislature, Regular Session, relating to the establishment and maintenance of one-stop border inspection stations by the Texas Department of Transportation in Brownsville, Laredo, and El Paso; and SB 1421, 76th Legislature, Regular Session, relating to the regulation of the subdivision or development of land in certain economically distressed areas, including colonias, and certain other areas.

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.