Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overview

Deceptive Trade Practices - 70th R.S. (1987)

Committee Members
Bruce Gibson, Co-Chair
John T. Montford, Co-Chair
Kent A. Caperton
O.H. 'Ike' Harris
Patricia Hill
Steven Wolens
Public members
Morris Atlas
Carol Barger
Mike Gallagher
Joe Longley
John McAdams
J. Robert Sheehy
  • Examine the economic impact on businesses and consumers resulting from the interpretation and application of the Deceptive Trade Practices Act (DTPA). Study whether the interpretation of the DTPA has contributed to unpredictability in the state's civil justice system.*

Appointed by the Speaker and Lieutenant Governor under the authority of HCR 137.
Senate members and public members Morris Atlas and Michael Gallagher appointed 10/28/1987. Public member Carol Barger appointed 3/17/1988. (Letters from William P. Hobby, Lieutenant Governor of Texas, October 15, 1987. See Lieutenant Governor Hobby Appointments, L1803.1 P926la 1987-90 3.)
House members and public members Robert Sheehy, John McAdams and Joe Longley appointed 3/3/1988. Bruce Gibson appointed Co-Chair 3/29/1988. (Letters from Gibson D. (Gib) Lewis, Speaker of the Texas House of Representatives, March 3, 1988 and March 29, 1988. See House Speaker Lewis Appointments, L1801.1 P926a 1985-92 2.)

* This represents an abstract of the report contents. Charge text is incomplete or unavailable.

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.