Future of Long Term Health Care, Special Task Force - 70th R.S. (1987)

Committee Members

Public members

  • James M. Martin, Chair
  • Ron Anderson
  • Robert Kafka
  • Louise Maberry
  • Bert Kruger Smith
  • Velda Wasson


  • Study the current and future status of long term health care in Texas and to analyze all current laws and regulations that affect long term health care, with the goal of providing quality care for residents in the most efficient manner. The study should include:
    (1) a cost-efficient, simple and completely integrated regulatory system between the Texas Department of Health and the Texas Department of Human Services;
    (2) a regulatory system that focuses on enhancing quality care through an incentive program with sanctions and penalties carefully defined;
    (3) a long-term care reimbursement process designed to foster cost containment, good patient access and quality of care; and
    (4) defining and streamlining the certification process, as well as Medicaid eligibility.


Appointed pursuant to HCR 213.

House members and public members Jim Martin, Louise Mayberry and Velda Watson appointed 11/17/1987. Jim Martin appointed chair 11/18/1987. (Letters from Gibson D. (Gib) Lewis, Speaker of the Texas House of Representatives, November 17, 1987 and November 18, 1987. See House Speaker Lewis Appointments, L1801.1 P926a 1985-92 3.)

Senate members appointed 10/28/1987. Public members Robert Kafka, Ron Anderson and Bert Smith appointed 10/30/1987. (Letters from William P. Hobby, Lieutenant Governor of Texas, October 28, 1987 and October 30, 1987. See Lieutenant Governor Hobby Appointments, L1803.1 P926la 1987-90 3.)

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.