Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overview

State and Local Drug Control, Task Force on - 71st R.S. (1989)

Committee Members

Public members

  • Dermot N. Brosnan
  • Michael Courville
  • Beverly Watts Davis
  • Oscar Jones


  • Study issues of public policy relating to drug control, including the following:
    (a) the need for state of Texas coordination with new federal initiatives in the War on Drugs;
    (b) the cost to the state of new federal drug control;
    (c) new initiatives and methods of drug abuse prevention in public elementary schools and the feasibility and cost of implementing new programs at that level;
    (d) the large increase of felony offenses by persons referred to juvenile probation programs; and
    (e) means of more efficient and effective coordination of drug-related law enforcement activities between agencies and levels of government.
    The task force shall also monitor the progress and effectiveness of pilot programs established by the lieutenant governor's anticrime legislative package.


Created by a proclamation issued by the Lieutenant Governor and the Speaker of the House under authority vested in HCR 142. See House and Senate Committees 71st 72nd Leg., L1800.1 p926.

Billy Clements and Carolyn Park appointed 11/10/1989. Other House members and public members Beverly Davis and Oscar Jones appointed 10/10/1989. (Letters from Gibson D. (Gib) Lewis, Speaker of the Texas House of Representatives, October 10, 1989 and November 10, 1989. See House Speaker Lewis Appointments, L1801.1 P926a 1985-92 2.)

Senate members and public members Michael Courville and Dermot Brosnam appointed 10/20/1989. (Letters from William P. Hobby, Lieutenant Governor of Texas, October 20, 1989. See Lieutenant Governor Hobby Appointments 70th-71st, L1803.1 P926la 1987-90 3.)

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.