Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index

Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

Legislative clips Legislative clips archive Texas media links Current articles Texshare databases New books New & Noteworthy
Legislative Archive System Index to Sections Affected Conference committee reports Constitutional amendments Vetoes State budget Redistricting information Signed copies of bills Statutory revision Texas law timeline Water law timeline Statute publication dates Legislative intent guide
Texas Legislators: Past & Present Governors of Texas Lt. Governors and Speakers Senate Presidents Pro Tempore Senate & House seniority Member statistics Chief Elected Officials Texas legislators on Twitter
Sessions and years Bill statistics Member statistics Bill effective dates Legislative deadlines Session summaries Special sessions Legislative staff lists
Today's meetings Meetings by date Standing committees Committees by session Committee search Legislative reports Committee minutes Standing committee appointments
Library catalog House & Senate Journals House & Senate Rules Parliamentary resources General and Special Laws of Texas Codes of 1856 Paschal's Digest Penal Code revision research guide Code of Criminal Procedure guide Deceptive Trade Practices Act Impeachment of O.P. Carrillo Gubernatorial inauguration materials Water resources research guide School finance litigation archive
Frequently Asked Questions Contacting your legislator Texas bill status State agency hotlines & citizen   assistance Texas legislative agencies &   process Other libraries Public policy resources

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overviewprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

Judicial Selection - 71st R.S. (1989)

Committee Members
Bruce Gibson, Co-Chair
Frank Tejeda, Co-Chair
Kent A. Caperton
Henry Cuellar
Temple Dickson
Robert J. 'Bob' Glasgow
Don Henderson
Paul Hilbert
James Hury
Sylvester Turner
D.R. 'Tom' Uher
Hector Uribe
Charles Barrow
Carol E. Dinkins
Alfred H. Ebert, Jr.
Byron Fullerton
Joe R. Greenhill, Sr.
Andrew L. Jefferson, Jr.
Dee J. Kelly
William B. Sechrest
Frank Wozencraft
• Review the status of the current litigation relating to the election of judges in Texas, examine the state's alternatives in addressing the lawsuit and make recommendations to the Legislature. Will also include a review of the methods of selecting statutory county court judges, state district judges and state appellate court judges.*

No report was issued.
House members and public member Charles Barrow appointed 1/12/1990. (Letters from Gibson D. (Gib) Lewis, Speaker of the Texas House of Represenatives, January 12, 1990. See House Speaker Lewis Appointments, L1801.1 P926a 1985-92 3.)
Senate members and public member Frank Wozencraft appointed 1/12/1990. (Letters from William P. Hobby, Lieutenant Governor of Texas, January 12, 1990. See Lieutenant Governor Hobby Appointments 70th-71st, L1803.1 P926la 1987-90 3.)
Carol Dinkins, Alfred Ebert, Jr., Byron Fullerton, Joe R. Greenhill, Andrew L. Jefferson, Jr., Dee J. Kelly and William B. Sechrest appointed 1/19/1990. (Letter from William P. Clements, Jr., Governor of Texas, to George S. Bayoud, Jr., Secretary of State of Texas, January 19, 1990. See Gov. Clements Appointments 1987/91, G644.1 P926a 5.)
Abstract of charge is from 71st Legislature Interim Committees, L1800.1 In8 71.

* This represents an abstract of the report contents. Charge text is incomplete or unavailable.

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.