Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index

Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

Legislative clips Legislative clips archive Texas media links Current articles Texshare databases New books New & Noteworthy
Legislative Archive System Index to Sections Affected Conference committee reports Constitutional amendments Vetoes State budget Redistricting information Signed copies of bills Statutory revision Texas law timeline Water law timeline Statute publication dates Legislative intent guide
Texas Legislators: Past & Present Governors of Texas Lt. Governors and Speakers Senate Presidents Pro Tempore Senate & House seniority Member statistics Chief Elected Officials Texas legislators on Twitter
Sessions and years Bill statistics Member statistics Bill effective dates Legislative deadlines Session summaries Special sessions Legislative staff lists
Today's meetings Meetings by date Standing committees Committees by session Committee search Legislative reports Committee minutes Standing committee appointments
Library catalog House & Senate Journals House & Senate Rules Parliamentary resources General and Special Laws of Texas Codes of 1856 Paschal's Digest Penal Code revision research guide Code of Criminal Procedure guide Deceptive Trade Practices Act Impeachment of O.P. Carrillo Gubernatorial inauguration materials Water resources research guide School finance litigation archive
Frequently Asked Questions Contacting your legislator Texas bill status State agency hotlines & citizen   assistance Texas legislative agencies &   process Other libraries Public policy resources

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overviewprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

House Committee on Charges Against Honorable J. E. McDonald, Commissioner of Agriculture, Special - 44th R.S. (1935)

Committee Members
Edgar Emmett Hunter, Chair
Leonard D. Westfall, Vice Chair
Charles Carter Canon
Patrick Anthony Dwyer
Robert Hubert Good
• To hear evidence on the charges contained herein and to hear such other additional evidence as may be brought before said committee concerning these or any other charges of midfeasance or malfeasance in office on the part of J.E. McDonald, Commissioner of Agriculture of the State of Texas; and if, in the judgment of such committee, the facts warrant, to prepare Articles of Impeachment and to report same back to the House for such action as the House may desire to take.

Appointed by Speaker 5/11/1935, pursuant to HCR 105. Resolution provided for five members of the House appointed by the Speaker.
Minority report printed in House Journal, 44th Legislature, 1st C.S., 9/27/1935, pp. 113-127. Majority report printed in House Journal, 44th Legislature, 1st C.S., 10/9/1935, p. 290. See also: motions relative to majority report, 10/15/1935, pp. 490 and 530.
On October 8, 1935 the House adopted a resolution by Hunter preferring articles of impeachment against J.E. McDonald, Commissioner of Agriculture, and calling for the appointment of a Board of Managers to oversee the proceedings.
The House adopted a motion by Fox to reconvene following the end of the 44th Legislature, 2nd C.S. for the purpose of hearing and considering the articles of impeachment preferred against J.E. McDonald.

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.