Penitentiary System, Special - 33rd R.S. (1913)

Committee Members

Public members

  • William H. Mayes, Chair



Appointed by Lieutenant Governor 4/1/1913 and Speaker (date unknown), pursuant to HCR 27. Senate amendments to HCR 27 mandated that Lieutenant Governor William Harding Mayes also serve (he was Committee Chair).
S.J. of Tex., 33rd Leg., R.S. 1538 (1913); H.J. of Tex., 33rd Leg., R.S. 1866 (1913)

See also: resolution by Hill re: committee to investigate penitentiary affairs, House Journal, 33rd Legislature, 3/13/1913, p. 1081. HCR 27 begins, "Whereas no action has been taken under the provisions of the Simple Resolution [by Hill] adopted by the House on March 12th...."
H.J. of Tex., 33rd Leg., R.S. 1081 (1913); H.J. of Tex., 33rd Leg., R.S. 1760 (1913)

Report printed in House Journal, 33rd Legislature, 1st C.S., 7/24/1913, pp. 47-85 and separate volume at L1836.33 P378.

Reps. Woods, Rowell, Craven, Chrestman and Harris were appointed by the speaker 3/13/1913 to serve as the five House members on the joint committee, pursuant to the simple resolution by Hill.
H.J. of Tex., 33rd Leg., R.S. 1159 (1913)

Report also published in S.J. of Tex., 33rd Leg., 1st C.S., 48 (1913).

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.