Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overview

House Committee on Appropriations - 68th R.S. (1983)

Committee Members
Bill Presnal, Chair
Jim D. Rudd, Chair
Doyle Willis, Vice Chair
Bill Blanton
Jerry Clark
Frank Collazo, Jr.
Tom DeLay
Betty Denton
Frank Eikenburg
Roy English
Matt Garcia
A. C. 'Tony' Garcia
Gerald Geistweidt
Jay Gibson
Lanny Hall
Tip Hall
W.O. 'Bill' Harrison, Jr.
Juan "Chuy" Hinojosa
Bill Hollowell
Frank Madla
Jim McWilliams
Mike Millsap
Pete Patterson
Nolan 'Buzz' Robnett
Ashley Smith
Lou Nelle Sutton
Senfronia Thompson
Jim Turner
Robert 'Bob' Valles
Jack Vowell
Tom C. Waldrop
Foster Whaley
Steven Wolens
• To monitor all activities and have budget oversight responsibilities for those agencies, boards and commissions as listed in Rule 3, Section 2.
• To investigate the feasibility of having state offices in foreign countries for use of various state agencies, including but not limited to:
a. The Department of Agriculture
b. The Industrial Commission
c. The Tourist Development Agency
• To review the capital outlay requirements of various facilities operated by the state in order to:
a. Determine the need for state-owned floor space in Travis County.
b. Set priorities in regards to the capital outlay of all state agencies and institutions.
• To review state employees group insurance to:
a. Determine the most cost effective bidding procedures available to the state.
b. Examine alternatives to reducing state costs for the employees' group health insurance program.
• To have interim oversight of all automated services in state government to:
a. Determine the role of automation in state government.
b. Research the possibility of coordination of automated services of small state agencies into a Central Automated System.
• To review the travel policies and the transportation needs of state agencies to:
a. Analyze the necessity of travel and the reimbursement policies of state agencies and institutions.
b. Consider the feasibility of advanced telecommunication in lieu of travel.
c. Explore the feasibility of having a motor pool for all Austin based state agencies.
d. Examine the use of TDC in repairing and reconditioning state owned vehicles.
• To review funding sources and general revenue to determine:
a. Policies concerning estimates of local income as an offset to general funding.
b. The appropriate policy in the application of indirect cost as it relates to federal and private funding in the method of financing state agencies and institutions.
c. The impact of general rider provisions, with particular emphasis of Sec. 67, Art. V, as it relates to proportional funding of selected agencies.
d. Review budget and agency policies (including salary, leave, and travel policies) of those agencies whose budgets are not controlled by the General Appropriations Act.
• To study the possibility of state agencies and institutions developing sources of energy for their own consumption.
• To conduct a comparative study to determine the most effective means of helping the welfare-unemployed enter the state work force.
• To review in cooperation with the House Committee on Higher Education in tuitional policies of institutions of higher education as it pertains to exemptions, particularly in payment of tuition of out-of-state students.
• To review planning and coordination of research by state agencies for the purpose of recommending those changes which will improve effectiveness and utility of the research product. Review shall include, but not be limited to:
a. Research funded through state appropriations, federal grants, private grants, and interagency contracts.
• To review the advantages and disadvantages of annual vs. biennial appropriations.

Bill Presnal (Chair) resigned 1/14/1984.
Jim Rudd promoted to Chair 1/13/1984. (Letter from Gibson D. (Gib) Lewis, Speaker of the Texas House of Represenatives, dated January 13, 1983. See House Speaker Lewis Appointments, L1801.1 P926a 1985-92 2.)
Tom Delay (Member), Betty Denton (Member), Roy English (Member) and Frank Eikenburg (Member) appointed March 1984. (Press Release, Speaker of the House Gibson D. (Gib) Lewis, March 30, 1984. See House Speaker Lewis Appointments, L1801.1 P926a 1985-92 2.)
Matt Garcia died 10/1/1983.
Lanny Hall resigned 1/13/1984.
Jim Turner resigned 3/17/1984.

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.