Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index

Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

Legislative clips Legislative clips archive Texas media links Current articles Texshare databases New books New & Noteworthy
Legislative Archive System Index to Sections Affected Conference committee reports Constitutional amendments Vetoes State budget Redistricting information Signed copies of bills Statutory revision Texas law timeline Water law timeline Statute publication dates Legislative intent guide
Texas Legislators: Past & Present Governors of Texas Lt. Governors and Speakers Senate Presidents Pro Tempore Senate & House seniority Member statistics Chief Elected Officials Texas legislators on Twitter
Sessions and years Bill statistics Member statistics Bill effective dates Legislative deadlines Session summaries Special sessions Legislative staff lists
Today's meetings Meetings by date Standing committees Committees by session Committee search Legislative reports Committee minutes Standing committee appointments
Library catalog House & Senate Journals House & Senate Rules Parliamentary resources General and Special Laws of Texas Codes of 1856 Paschal's Digest Penal Code revision research guide Code of Criminal Procedure guide Deceptive Trade Practices Act Impeachment of O.P. Carrillo Gubernatorial inauguration materials Water resources research guide School finance litigation archive
Frequently Asked Questions Contacting your legislator Texas bill status State agency hotlines & citizen   assistance Texas legislative agencies &   process Other libraries Public policy resources

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overviewprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

Penitentiary Investigating - 37th R.S. (1921)

Committee Members
Guinn Terrell Williams, Chair
Claud Duval Teer, Vice Chair
Richard Mortimer Chitwood
John Charles Darroch
Harry Hertzberg
Henry LaFayette Lewis
Dan Scott McMillin
Richard Ernest Seagler
Newton Barber Williams
• Investigate conduct of the state penitentiary affairs and especially as to the treatment or mistreatment of the convicts by officers and employees of the institution.
• Investigate the killing of George W. Ludwig and Jack Baldwin, both convicts, by prison guards at the Eastham Farm on 7/22/1921.*

Appointed by Lieutenant Governor 2/3/1921 and by Speaker 2/4/1921 pursuant to SCR 10 by Williams, Hertzberg, and Bledsoe. Excerpt from Senate Subcommittee No. 2 chaired by McNealus printed in Senate Journal, 37th Leg., p. 546 but NcNealus not named as committee member by Lieutenant Governor. HCR 34 adopted by the Senate 3/7/1921 extended time period for committee's investigation. Preliminary report was submitted to the 37th Legislature on 3/12/1921 with final report, accompanied by a minority report, submitted to the 37th Leg., 1st C.S. on 7/30/1921.
SR 4 by Hertzberg, 37th Leg., 1st C.S. referred report of the killing of two convicts at the Eastham Prison Farm to Penitentiary Investigating Committee of the 37th Leg., R.S. Subcommittee of the Investigating Committee handled hearings and report signed by Subcommittee members Sen. Hertzberg and Sen. Teer. Report submitted by full committee included a minority report by Lewis. Subcommittee report also found at H.J. of Tex., 37th Leg., 1st C.S. 466 (1921)

* This represents an abstract of the report contents. Charge text is incomplete or unavailable.

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.