Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index

Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

Legislative clips Legislative clips archive Texas media links Current articles Texshare databases New books New & Noteworthy
Legislative Archive System Index to Sections Affected Conference committee reports Constitutional amendments Vetoes State budget Redistricting information Signed copies of bills Statutory revision Texas law timeline Water law timeline Statute publication dates Legislative intent guide
Texas Legislators: Past & Present Governors of Texas Lt. Governors and Speakers Senate Presidents Pro Tempore Senate & House seniority Member statistics Chief Elected Officials Texas legislators on Twitter
Sessions and years Bill statistics Member statistics Bill effective dates Legislative deadlines Session summaries Special sessions Legislative staff lists
Today's meetings Meetings by date Standing committees Committees by session Committee search Legislative reports Committee minutes Standing committee appointments
Library catalog House & Senate Journals House & Senate Rules Parliamentary resources General and Special Laws of Texas Codes of 1856 Paschal's Digest Penal Code revision research guide Code of Criminal Procedure guide Deceptive Trade Practices Act Impeachment of O.P. Carrillo Gubernatorial inauguration materials Water resources research guide School finance litigation archive
Frequently Asked Questions Contacting your legislator Texas bill status State agency hotlines & citizen   assistance Texas legislative agencies &   process Other libraries Public policy resources

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overviewprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

House Committee on Transportation - 68th R.S. (1983)

Committee Members
David Cain, Chair
Al Edwards, Vice Chair
Lanny Hall, Chair - Budget & Oversight
Tom DeLay
Ed Emmett
Charles Finnell
Clint Hackney
Albert Luna III
Jimmy Mankins
• To monitor all activities and have budget oversight responsibilities for those agencies, boards and commissions as listed in Rule 3, Section 31.
• To study the financing, administration, and maintenance of county roads, and the relationship of county government to the State Department of Highways and Public Transportation in planning and funding county transportation projects.
• To evaluate the utilization of state and federal funds for highway construction and maintenance by the State Department of Highways and Public Transportation, including an analysis of the impact of increased federal funds, and the Department's procedures for planning, developing, funding, and monitoring highway construction and maintenance projects.
• To review the administration of the public Transportation Fund, including an analysis of the use of the fund by urban and rural areas of the state; the status of projects approved by the State Department of Highways and Public Transportation; the accounting of the fund by the Department, the Legislative Budget Board, and the State Comptroller; and the management of the fund by the State Department of Highways and Public Transportation.
• To study the State Department of Highways and Transportation minority contract programs, the Department's efforts to meet the goals of the Small Business Act and the Surface Transportation Act, including preparation of bids and letting of contracts.
• To study the experience of the cities involved in the states' Commercial zones and the effect that the creation and expansion of these zones has had on the availability and quality of motor transportation service.
• To study the current law dealing with rates and rate setting by the RCT, and recommendations as to whether the current rate setting process contains adequate flexibility to promote competition while insuring stability of the industry.
• To study the agricultural exemptions and procedures established by the last legislature and a review of the implementation of those charges.

Lanny Hall (Chair - Budget and Oversight) resigned 1/13/1984.
George Pierce is listed as a member of the Committee and Tom DeLay is listed as the Chair for Budget and Oversight on the press release regarding House committees issued by Speaker Gib Lewis on April 4, 1984. (Press Release, Speaker of the House Gibson D. (Gib) Lewis, April 5, 1984. See House Speaker Lewis Appointments, L1801.1 P926a 1985-92 2.)

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.