Legislative Reference Library

Texas Legislators: Past & Present

Merritt C. Fields

M.C. Fields
Full Name: Merritt C. Fields
Birth date: April 27, 1869
Death date: November 27, 1935

Terms of Service

  • House, 33rd (1) (2) (3) Legislature
    1/14/1913 - 8/30/1913
(1) "Two Representatives Named: Special Election Held in Falls County and Sixty-Third District - J.M. Kennedy and N.P. Houx Unopposed," 9/9/1914, p. 8. Results of special election 9/8/1914. J.M. Kennedy, "editor of Marlin Daily Democrat," and Major Houx is "at present chairman of the democratic executive committee of Limestone County." Fields resigned to be Lott postmaster; Coffey resigned to be Eddy postmaster. Galveston Daily News .
(2) J.M. Kennedy, sworn 9/9/1914, succeeded M.C. Fields, resigned 8/30/1913. Members of the Texas Congress 1836-1845; Members of the Texas Legislature 1846-2004 2005.
(3) Resigned 8/30/1913 to become postmaster at Lott. "Representative Fields Resigns," 8/31/1913, p. 1. San Antonio Light .

Biographical Notes and Resources


Other Resources

  • M.C. Fields, birth date 4/27/1869 in Clay County, Alabama; death date 11/27/1935 in Lott, Falls County, Texas; "resident of Falls County 53 years,"; retired farmer, burial in Carolina Cemetery, father A.C. Fields, spouse Helen McMillan. Listed as Merritt C. Fields in Texas Deaths and Burials, 1903-1973, same birth and death date, father Christopher Fields, mother Mary Bradbury, spouse Helen Alice McMilan. FamilySearch . Texas Deaths and Burials, 1903-1973 Texas Deaths, 1890-1976
  • Census of 1900 - Marett C. Fields, Falls County, age 30, born April 1870 in Alabama, farmer, spouse Hellen.
    Census of 1910 - Merit C. Fields, Falls County, age 41, born circa 1869 in Alabama, farmer, spouse Helen.
    Census of 1920 - Meritt C. Fields, Lott, Falls County, age 50, born circa 1870 in Alabama, postmaster, spouse Helen A.
    Census of 1930 - Merit C. Fields, Lott, Falls County, age 60, born circa 1870 in Alabama, Justice Peace, Precinct 4. FamilySearch . 1930 1910
  • 1900 1920
  • Merritt C. Fields (1869-1935), "father," burial in Carolina Cemetery, Falls County, Texas, with Helen Alice Fields, "mother." RootsWeb.com Internet genealogical service .
  • 33rd Legislature (1913) - M.C. Fields, postoffice Lott, nativity Alabama, age 43 (born circa 1870), farmer, 29 years in Texas, Democrat. Texas Legislative Manual .
LRL Home | View full site