Legislative Reference Library

Texas Legislators: Past & Present

L.B. Camp

L.B. Camp
Full Name: Little Berry "L.B." Camp
Birth date: May 4, 1806
Death date: August 24, 1880

Terms of Service

  • House, 12th (3) (5) Legislature
    2/9/1870 - 1/14/1873
  • House, 8th (2) (4) Legislature
    11/7/1859 - 11/4/1861
  • House, 4th (1) Legislature
    11/3/1851 - 11/7/1853
(1) Election of 1851 - Democratic candidates William T. Scott, Dr. Joseph Taylor, and L.D. Camp of Upshur County (possibly L.B. Camp), pp. 162, 164. A Southern Community in Crisis: Harrison County, Texas, 1850-1880 1983.
(2) Camp served as a delegate to the Secession Convention, but he, along with James Webb Throckmorton, was one of only eight delegates to vote against secession. Little Berry Camp remained a Unionist throughout the Civil War. Handbook of Texas Online .
(3) 12th Legislature, Provisional Session - Qualified and took the oath of office on 2/9/1870. House Journal .
(4) [In late 1860 and early 1861] legislators Micajah Lewis Armstrong, John L. Haynes, and Robert H. Taylor mailed circulars to their constituencies defending their unpopular Unionist positions. They joined other Unionist legislators and convention delegates on February 6 in issuing an address entreating Texans to reject secession." "Origins of Early Texas Republican Party Leadership," Vol. 40, No. 3, pp. 447. Journal of Southern History .
(5) Party affiliation, Radical. Texas Almanac for . . . and Emigrant's Guide to Texas .

Biographical Notes and Resources


  • Photograph. L.B. Camp, Texas Album of the Eighth Legislature

Other Resources

LRL Home | View full site