Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index

Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

Legislative clips Legislative clips archive Texas media links Current articles Texshare databases New books New & Noteworthy
Legislative Archive System Index to Sections Affected Conference committee reports Constitutional amendments Vetoes State budget Redistricting information Signed copies of bills Statutory revision Texas law timeline Water law timeline Statute publication dates Legislative intent guide
Texas Legislators: Past & Present Governors of Texas Lt. Governors and Speakers Senate Presidents Pro Tempore Senate & House seniority Member statistics Chief Elected Officials Texas legislators on Twitter
Sessions and years Bill statistics Member statistics Bill effective dates Legislative deadlines Session summaries Special sessions Legislative staff lists
Today's meetings Meetings by date Standing committees Committees by session Committee search Legislative reports Committee minutes Standing committee appointments
Library catalog House & Senate Journals House & Senate Rules Parliamentary resources General and Special Laws of Texas Codes of 1856 Paschal's Digest Penal Code revision research guide Code of Criminal Procedure guide Deceptive Trade Practices Act Impeachment of O.P. Carrillo Gubernatorial inauguration materials Water resources research guide School finance litigation archive
Frequently Asked Questions Contacting your legislator Texas bill status State agency hotlines & citizen   assistance Texas legislative agencies &   process Other libraries Public policy resources

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overviewprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

House Committee on Natural Resources - 63rd R.S. (1973)

Committee Members
Gib Lewis, Chair
Henry Sanchez, Vice Chair
W.J. 'Bill' Blythe, Jr.
Terry A. Canales
Phil Cates
Bill Clayton
L. Dean Cobb
Tom Craddick
Milton E. Fox
Joe C. Hanna
Bob Hendricks
John Hoestenbach
Samuel Hudson III
A.J. 'Al' Korioth
Herman E. Lauhoff
Tom C. Massey
Jon P. Newton
James Nowlin
Wayne Peveto
Lindsey Rodriguez
Tom Schieffer
Richard C. Slack
Ed R. Watson
John Wilson
• Hear testimony on the issue of unitization of oil and gas properties. Consider the advantages and disadvantages of allowing owners of large interests in an oil or gas reservoir should be allowed to compel smaller owners to merge interests and consolidate the operations of the reservoir.*
• Review issues related to surface mining and land reclamation, land surface subsidence, water supplies, waste disposal, and water law.*
• Undertake a study of the energy crisis in rural areas and make legislative recommendations*

Phil Cates (Member) resigned from the committee and Herman Lauhoff (Member) was appointed, September 6, 1974. (Press release from Price Daniel, Jr., Speaker of the Texas House of Representatives, September 6, 1974. See House Press Memos 1973, L1801.1 P926 1974.)
Charged to study the unitization issue by the Speaker, December 10, 1973. (Press release, December 10, 1973 and letter from Price Daniel, Jr., Speaker of the Texas House of Representatives, to Dolph Briscoe, Governor of Texas, December 11, 1973. See House Press Memos 1973, L1801.1 P926 1973.)

* This represents an abstract of the report contents. Charge text is incomplete or unavailable.

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.