Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index

Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

Legislative clips Legislative clips archive Texas media links Current articles Texshare databases New books New & Noteworthy
Legislative Archive System Index to Sections Affected Conference committee reports Constitutional amendments Vetoes State budget Redistricting information Signed copies of bills Statutory revision Texas law timeline Water law timeline Statute publication dates Legislative intent guide
Texas Legislators: Past & Present Governors of Texas Lt. Governors and Speakers Senate Presidents Pro Tempore Senate & House seniority Member statistics Chief Elected Officials Texas legislators on Twitter
Sessions and years Bill statistics Member statistics Bill effective dates Legislative deadlines Session summaries Special sessions Legislative staff lists
Today's meetings Meetings by date Standing committees Committees by session Committee search Legislative reports Committee minutes Standing committee appointments
Library catalog House & Senate Journals House & Senate Rules Parliamentary resources General and Special Laws of Texas Codes of 1856 Paschal's Digest Penal Code revision research guide Code of Criminal Procedure guide Deceptive Trade Practices Act Impeachment of O.P. Carrillo Gubernatorial inauguration materials Water resources research guide School finance litigation archive
Frequently Asked Questions Contacting your legislator Texas bill status State agency hotlines & citizen   assistance Texas legislative agencies &   process Other libraries Public policy resources

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overviewprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

House Committee on Financial Institutions - 65th R.S. (1977)

Committee Members
Jerry 'Nub' Donaldson, Chair
Ruben M. Torres, Vice Chair
Leonard Edward Briscoe
Donald M. Cartwright
Frank E. Hartung
Robert 'Bob' Maloney
Lynn Nabers
Anthony Polumbo
Stan Schlueter
Ron Wilson
• A study of the feasibility and advantages of a state owned and operated depository insurance corporation (SDIC) for financial institutions in this state.
• A study of the statutes and regulations governing the operations of credit unions in the State with recommendations for necessary legislation, if any, to adequately protect the public through proper licensing, control and regulations. This study should also include a review of the impact of interest bearing third party payments on all state financial institutions offering such instruments and the effect on the general public thereof.
• A study of the various proposals for implementing an electronic funds transfer system in the state, with recommendations as to the advantages and disadvantages to such systems. This study should review the feasibility of electronic funds transfer systems including privacy aspects, security controls, and fraud potential.
• Oversight responsibility of agency expenditures and related transactions. This function shall encompass a review and monitoring of all appropriations-related actions of those agencies assigned to this committee for appropriative purposes during the 65th Regular Session of the Legislature, to wit:
Department of Banking
Savings and Loan Department
Consumer Credit Commissioner
State Finance Commission
Credit Union Commission

Stan Schlueter (Member) appointed 2/22/1978. (Memorandum from Bill Clayton, Speaker of the Texas House of Represenatives, February 22, 1978. See House Press Memos 1978, L1801.1 P926 1978.)
Ruben Torres (Vice Chair) resigned 1/30/1978.

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.