Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index

Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

Legislative clips Legislative clips archive Texas media links Current articles Texshare databases New books New & Noteworthy
Legislative Archive System Index to Sections Affected Conference committee reports Constitutional amendments Vetoes State budget Redistricting information Signed copies of bills Statutory revision Texas law timeline Water law timeline Statute publication dates Legislative intent guide
Texas Legislators: Past & Present Governors of Texas Lt. Governors and Speakers Senate Presidents Pro Tempore Senate & House seniority Member statistics Chief Elected Officials Texas legislators on Twitter
Sessions and years Bill statistics Member statistics Bill effective dates Legislative deadlines Session summaries Special sessions Legislative staff lists
Today's meetings Meetings by date Standing committees Committees by session Committee search Legislative reports Committee minutes Standing committee appointments
Library catalog House & Senate Journals House & Senate Rules Parliamentary resources General and Special Laws of Texas Codes of 1856 Paschal's Digest Penal Code revision research guide Code of Criminal Procedure guide Deceptive Trade Practices Act Impeachment of O.P. Carrillo Gubernatorial inauguration materials Water resources research guide School finance litigation archive
Frequently Asked Questions Contacting your legislator Texas bill status State agency hotlines & citizen   assistance Texas legislative agencies &   process Other libraries Public policy resources

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overviewprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

Senate Committee on Finance - 74th R.S. (1995)

Committee Members
John T. Montford, Chair
Bill Ratliff, Chair
J.E. 'Buster' Brown, Vice Chair
Gonzalo Barrientos
Teel Bivins
Rodney Ellis
Eddie Lucio
Mike Moncrief
Peggy Rosson
David Sibley
Bill Sims
Carlos F. Truan
Jim Turner
Royce West
Judith Zaffirini
• To evaluate the impact on Texas government finance resulting from proposed changes in federal funding mechanisms and to make recommendations to implement changed funding mechanisms.
• To monitor implementation of tuition and student use fee increases, HB 815, 74th Legislature, Regular Session and HB 1792, 74th Legislature, Regular Session, by higher education institutions. The Committee shall issue a report identifying the impacts and uses of tuition and student use fee increases.
• To evaluate use of emerging telecommunication infrastructure for efficiencies in collection and disbursement of state funds and to evaluate the impact of technology and its effect on the demand for state appropriations.
• Identify instances of excess appropriations and monitor forecasted unexpended balances of fiscal year 1996 appropriations, evaluating the reasons for such balances. This inquiry should focus on the major projected unexpended balances such as those at the Department of Health, Texas Department of Human Services, and Texas Department of Criminal Justice including managed health costs for inmates.
• Evaluate for the period from 1986 to present the caseload, enrollment and population estimating methodologies used by state agencies and institutions to form the basis of their legislative appropriation requests and make recommendations to improve those methodologies and allow the Legislature to make interim adjustments in appropriations based on inaccurate estimates.
• Monitor Assessment of Agency Performance as indentified by the Legislative Budget Board staff for major agencies and institutions and recommend ways to further enhance the state's performance based budgeting system including enhanced use of rewards for compliance and sanctions for noncompliance with established performance measures, such as those establishing graduation rates and target employment caps.

Peggy Rosson (Member) resigned 4/10/1995. John T. Montford (Chair) resigned 8/21/1996. Bill Ratliff (Chair) and Royce West (Member) appointed 8/21/1996.

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.