Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overviewprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

House Committee on State Hospitals and Special Schools, Special - 56th R.S. (1959)

Committee Members
John E. Blaine, Chair
Steve Burgess
Wilson Foreman
Lloyd C. Martin
Abe Mulkey Mays, Jr.
George Washington McCoppin
Will L. Smith
  • Observe and study the operations of our hospitals and special schools; to seek possible ways and means of improving their efficiency and economy; to observe the methods, adequacy, and effectiveness of the care and treatment given the patients and inmates of these institutions; and to conduct such other studies as are deemed desirable and necessary towards the betterment of the Hospitals and Special Schools System in this State, providing, however, that the studies of this Committee shall not duplicate or conflict with studies conducted by any other interim committee previously authorized by the 56th Legislature.

Appointed by Speaker 12/29/1959, pursuant to HSR 5, 56th 2nd C.S.
3rd C.S.: Steve Burgess and George McCoppin (Members) appointed 8/29/1960.

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.