Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overview

Lunar Landing Commission - 61st R.S. (1969)

Committee Members


  • The commission, working under the leadership and at the direction of the Governor of Texas, shall join the Governor in selecting an artist to design the Medal of Valor, which will embody the historical and incalculable significance of the flight of Apollo 11 and the bravery and daring of the men who brought the mission to its successful conclusion. The commission shall carry forward all processes in having the medal prepared, from design to die and casting; as soon as the medal has been struck and accepted, the commission shall make sure that the die is placed in the archives of the state with other historical mementoes of the state never to be used again.
  • The commission shall also make arrangements for appropriate ceremonies when the Medal of Valor is presented to the Apollo 11 astronauts. A separate medal shall be presented to each of the three astronauts in ceremonies with the dignity and distinction appropriate to the glorious achievements of the moon landing and its implications to mankind.


Appointed by Lieutenant Governor (Senate Journal appendix, 61st Regular, p. 2325) and Speaker 10/9/1969 (House Journal, 61st 1st C.S., p. 263), pursuant to SCR 6, 61st 1st C.S. Speaker appointed Tommy Shannon as Chair; committee meeting minutes (L1836.60 L972) show Chair Martin Dies and Vice-Chair Chet Brooks.

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.