Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index

Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

Legislative clips Legislative clips archive Texas media links Current articles Texshare databases New books New & Noteworthy
Legislative Archive System Index to Sections Affected Conference committee reports Constitutional amendments Vetoes State budget Redistricting information Signed copies of bills Statutory revision Texas law timeline Water law timeline Statute publication dates Legislative intent guide
Texas Legislators: Past & Present Governors of Texas Lt. Governors and Speakers Senate Presidents Pro Tempore Senate & House seniority Member statistics Chief Elected Officials Texas legislators on Twitter
Sessions and years Bill statistics Member statistics Bill effective dates Legislative deadlines Session summaries Special sessions Legislative staff lists
Today's meetings Meetings by date Standing committees Committees by session Committee search Legislative reports Committee minutes Standing committee appointments
Library catalog House & Senate Journals House & Senate Rules Parliamentary resources General and Special Laws of Texas Codes of 1856 Paschal's Digest Penal Code revision research guide Code of Criminal Procedure guide Deceptive Trade Practices Act Impeachment of O.P. Carrillo Gubernatorial inauguration materials Water resources research guide School finance litigation archive
Frequently Asked Questions Contacting your legislator Texas bill status State agency hotlines & citizen   assistance Texas legislative agencies &   process Other libraries Public policy resources

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overviewprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

Government Efficiency - 72nd R.S. (1991)

Committee Members
Layton Black, Co-Chair
Bruce Gibson, Co-Chair
John T. Montford, Co-Chair
Ken Armbrister
Chet Brooks
Rick Crawford
Robert J. 'Bob' Glasgow
Don Henderson
Delwin Jones
Robert Junell
Jerald H. Larry
Carl Parker
Bill Ratliff
Ric Williamson
• Review operations of state agencies as a basis for evaluating potential improvements in operations, including increased efficiency, reduced costs, enhanced managerial accountability and administrative control, and improved information management, and identify specific areas of potential savings.
• Adopt, coordinate, monitor and review an annual "Interagency Performance Auditing Strategic Workplan" to insure the maximum use of state funds and eliminate duplication; the workplan shall coordinate allocation of resources, scheduling of staff, timing of agency audits, areas and typoes of audits to be performed and the due dates for reports.
• Monitor and oversee implementation of legislation ecacted by the 72nd Legislature that was considered by the Senate Committee on Finance, the House Committee on Appropriations, or the House Committee on Ways and Means; monitor and oversee implementation of all performance audit review recommendations of the Texas Performance Review team, whether adopted by the legislature or not; and monitor and oversee agency initiatives.
• Verify the number and status of outputs and outcomes identified in HB1, 72nd Legislature, 1st Called Session, and otherwise determine whether programs that are the focus of study are functioning as planned.
• Identify and review agencies' existing performance standards and determine whether the agencies have met, exceeded or failed to meet those standards.
• Verify the number of employees in each program that is the focus of study, and monitor and oversee documentation of all agency salary actions, including position reclassifications, merit salary increases and other salary increases resulting from legislative or agency-initiated action.
• Monitor implementation of sunset legislation and identify specific goals the state must attain by the year 2000 and biennial goals that must be achieved until that time.

Membership information is from the committee record in the Texas Appointment System and from House Speaker Lewis Appointments L1801.1 P926a 1985-92 2.
No report was issued.
Bruce Gibson (Co-chair) resigned 1/31/1992. Layton Black appointed Co-chair by the Speaker in a letter dated 6/22/1992.
Appointed by the Speaker and the Lieutenant Governor 10/3/1991.

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.