Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index

Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

Legislative clips Legislative clips archive Texas media links Current articles Texshare databases New books New & Noteworthy
Legislative Archive System Index to Sections Affected Conference committee reports Constitutional amendments Vetoes State budget Redistricting information Signed copies of bills Statutory revision Texas law timeline Water law timeline Statute publication dates Legislative intent guide
Texas Legislators: Past & Present Governors of Texas Lt. Governors and Speakers Senate Presidents Pro Tempore Senate & House seniority Member statistics Chief Elected Officials Texas legislators on Twitter
Sessions and years Bill statistics Member statistics Bill effective dates Legislative deadlines Session summaries Special sessions Legislative staff lists
Today's meetings Meetings by date Standing committees Committees by session Committee search Legislative reports Committee minutes Standing committee appointments
Library catalog House & Senate Journals House & Senate Rules Parliamentary resources General and Special Laws of Texas Codes of 1856 Paschal's Digest Penal Code revision research guide Code of Criminal Procedure guide Deceptive Trade Practices Act Impeachment of O.P. Carrillo Gubernatorial inauguration materials Water resources research guide School finance litigation archive
Frequently Asked Questions Contacting your legislator Texas bill status State agency hotlines & citizen   assistance Texas legislative agencies &   process Other libraries Public policy resources

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overviewprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

Edwards Aquifer, Special - 71st R.S. (1989)

Committee Members
Cyndi Taylor Krier, Co-Chair
Terral R. Smith, Co-Chair
Ken Armbrister
Gonzalo Barrientos
Eldon Edge
Orlando Garcia
Harvey Hilderbran
Edmund Kuempel
Libby Linebarger
John T. Montford
Bill Sims
Frank Tejeda
Jeff Wentworth
Judith Zaffirini
• The committee shall be assigned to:
(a) review and study scientific data on the Edwards Aquifer from various public agencies, including the Bureau of Economic Geology, The Texas Water Development Board, the Texas Water Commission, the Edwards Underground Water District, and the United States Geological Survey;
(b) consider priorities for the uses of the Edwards Aquifer, considering its storage capacity, its recharge and retention capabilities, and its ability to transmit water and provide water of high quality;
(c) explore and suggest alternatives for supplying adequate water for regional needs at reasonable costs;
(d) determine the effects of limiting groundwater withdrawals from the Edwards Aquifer to an amount less than average annual recharge;
(e) consider allocation mechanisms for the aquifer;
(f) consider whether amendments to existing water law are needed;
(g) determine the feasibility of pumping to augment or replace springflow for the purpose of meeting downstream need without waste, the impact on downstream needs, and whether additional studies should be contracted for as funds are available;
(h) examine present institutional arrangements for water resource management in the region of the Edwards Aquifer and hydrologically connected river basins, and examine alternative institutional arrangements;
(i) examine alternative methods of managing the aquifer, with and without imposing limits on pumping;
(j) review the costs, benefits, and feasibility of recharge and other projects, including consideration of fair methods of funding such projects;
(k) review and consider modifications to water rights and policies affecting development of surface water in the western part of the Edwards Aquifer region, and
(l) investigate and make recommendations on any other aspects of groundwater management, that, in the judgment of the committee would be useful to the legislature's decision making.

Created by a proclamation issued by the Lieutenant Governor and the Speaker of the House under authority vested in HCR 142. See House and Senate Committees 71st 72nd Leg., L1800.1 p926.
House members appointed 9/15/1989. (Letters from Gibson D. (Gib) Lewis, Speaker of the Texas House of Represenatives, September 15, 1989. See House Speaker Lewis Appointments, L1801.1 P926a 1985-92 2.)
Senate members appointed 9/25/1989. (Letters from William P. Hobby, Lieutenant Governor of Texas, September 25, 1989. See Lieutenant Governor Hobby Appointments 70th-71st, L1803.1 P926la 1987-90 3.)

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.