Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index

Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

Legislative clips Legislative clips archive Texas media links Current articles Texshare databases New books New & Noteworthy
Legislative Archive System Index to Sections Affected Conference committee reports Constitutional amendments Vetoes State budget Redistricting information Signed copies of bills Statutory revision Texas law timeline Water law timeline Statute publication dates Legislative intent guide
Texas Legislators: Past & Present Governors of Texas Lt. Governors and Speakers Senate Presidents Pro Tempore Senate & House seniority Member statistics Chief Elected Officials Texas legislators on Twitter
Sessions and years Bill statistics Member statistics Bill effective dates Legislative deadlines Session summaries Special sessions Legislative staff lists
Today's meetings Meetings by date Standing committees Committees by session Committee search Legislative reports Committee minutes Standing committee appointments
Library catalog House & Senate Journals House & Senate Rules Parliamentary resources General and Special Laws of Texas Codes of 1856 Paschal's Digest Penal Code revision research guide Code of Criminal Procedure guide Deceptive Trade Practices Act Impeachment of O.P. Carrillo Gubernatorial inauguration materials Water resources research guide School finance litigation archive
Frequently Asked Questions Contacting your legislator Texas bill status State agency hotlines & citizen   assistance Texas legislative agencies &   process Other libraries Public policy resources

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overviewprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

House Committee on Natural Resources - 70th R.S. (1987)

Committee Members
Terral R. Smith, Chair
Jack Harris, Vice Chair
Bill Hammond
Steve Holzheauser
Cliff Johnson
Sam Russell
Dan Shelley
Dalton Smith
Richard Swift
Mike Toomey
Jerry Yost
• To monitor all activities and have budget oversight responsibilities for those agencies, boards, and commissions as listed in Rule 3, Section 24.
• To study and monitor the progress and implementation of the 1985 water package.
• To study the appropriate categories, powers and duties of water districts created under the Texas Water Code or by other legislative authorization, including the procedures for the creation of such districts.
• To study the preservation of Texas beaches, methods to provide for public access to beaches, and restoration of beaches following a storm.
• To study current efforts to provide water and wastewater services to the colonias and the proper role for the state in these efforts.
• To study the legal and institutional structure for wastewater management as it relates to regional and on-site systems, including the limitations, if any, of local governments which impede or impair local government participation in regional wastewater collection and treatment systems.
• To study federal efforts to improve water quality of the Rio Grande River and examine the state's rights and responsibilities in assisting toward that effort.
• To study the repeal of provisions of the Texas Water Code that interfere with the effective creation of regional waste disposal entities.
• To study the current structure of local, regional and state governmental entities responsible for managing the development, conservation and protection of the state's water resources.
• To study legislation appropriate to provide the state with the necessary authority to ensure the adequate protection of the ground water resources of the state including the procedures for creation of under ground water conservation districts.
• To study the need for additional authority to effectively regulate non-point source releases of wastes and other harmful substances that contaminate or threaten to contaminate the waters in the state.
• To study whether there is unnecessary overlap or duplication of functions between various governmental agencies including river authorities, affecting the state's water resources and whether there are any areas which are inadequately addressed by existing organizational structures.

No report was issued.
Mike Toomey (Member) resigned 1/6/1988. Cliff Johnson (Member) resigned 1/6/1988. Dalton Smith (Member) and Dick Swift (Member) appointed June 1988. (Press Release, Speaker of the House Gibson D. (Gib) Lewis, June 29, 1988. See House Speaker Lewis Appointments, L1801.1 P926a 1985-92 2.)

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.