Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index

Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

Legislative clips Legislative clips archive Texas media links Current articles Texshare databases New books New & Noteworthy
Legislative Archive System Index to Sections Affected Conference committee reports Constitutional amendments Vetoes State budget Redistricting information Signed copies of bills Statutory revision Texas law timeline Water law timeline Statute publication dates Legislative intent guide
Texas Legislators: Past & Present Governors of Texas Lt. Governors and Speakers Senate Presidents Pro Tempore Senate & House seniority Member statistics Chief Elected Officials Texas legislators on Twitter
Sessions and years Bill statistics Member statistics Bill effective dates Legislative deadlines Session summaries Special sessions Legislative staff lists
Today's meetings Meetings by date Standing committees Committees by session Committee search Legislative reports Committee minutes Standing committee appointments
Library catalog House & Senate Journals House & Senate Rules Parliamentary resources General and Special Laws of Texas Codes of 1856 Paschal's Digest Penal Code revision research guide Code of Criminal Procedure guide Deceptive Trade Practices Act Impeachment of O.P. Carrillo Gubernatorial inauguration materials Water resources research guide School finance litigation archive
Frequently Asked Questions Contacting your legislator Texas bill status State agency hotlines & citizen   assistance Texas legislative agencies &   process Other libraries Public policy resources

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overviewprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

House Committee on State Health Care Expenditures, Select - 78th R.S. (2003)

Committee Members
Dianne White Delisi, Chair
Roberto Gutierrez, Vice Chair
Linda Harper-Brown, Vice Chair
Leo Berman
Jaime Capelo
Myra Crownover
Joe Deshotel
Sid Miller
Vicki Truitt
Carlos Uresti
Arlene Wohlgemuth
• Monitor the implementation of the Driver Responsibility Act in respect to the collection of associated surcharges for trauma care. Specifically evaluate the funding and distribution of funds to trauma care facilities.
• Study the effects of "crowd out" in the Children's Health Insurance Program and Medicaid Program to determine accurate data and to ascertain if additional policy changes are needed to prevent "crowd out" of private insurance and escalating public insurance costs.
• Evaluate the funding source of the Medicaid Disproportionate Share Hospital (DSH) Program and the criteria that a hospital must meet to participate in the DSH program in comparison to the balance and fairness of other state and federal funding streams.
• Study the current consumer-directed care models that are in use by the state and look at other states' consumer-directed care models that may benefit Texas in areas such as long-term health care and chronic health care. Place emphasis on the Program of All-Inclusive Care For the Elderly model to ascertain its true potential for both cost-effectiveness and improved health outcomes. Identify barriers to the model's expansion in Texas.
• Continue to identify and seek new models for the provision of health care benefits within the Employee Retirement System and the Teacher Retirement System.

Appointed by Speaker proclamation 1/30/2003.
Linda Harper-Brown appointed Vice-Chair 4/15/04 pursuant to Rule 4, section 5 and Rule 1, Section 15. (Proclamation, Tom Craddick, April 13, 2004)
Roberto Gutierrez replaced as Vice-Chair 4/15/04 pursuant to Rule 4, section 5. (Proclamation, Tom Craddick, April 15, 2004.)

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.