Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index

Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

Legislative clips Legislative clips archive Texas media links Current articles Texshare databases New books New & Noteworthy
Legislative Archive System Index to Sections Affected Conference committee reports Constitutional amendments Vetoes State budget Redistricting information Signed copies of bills Statutory revision Texas law timeline Water law timeline Statute publication dates Legislative intent guide
Texas Legislators: Past & Present Governors of Texas Lt. Governors and Speakers Senate Presidents Pro Tempore Senate & House seniority Member statistics Chief Elected Officials Texas legislators on Twitter
Sessions and years Bill statistics Member statistics Bill effective dates Legislative deadlines Session summaries Special sessions Legislative staff lists
Today's meetings Meetings by date Standing committees Committees by session Committee search Legislative reports Committee minutes Standing committee appointments
Library catalog House & Senate Journals House & Senate Rules Parliamentary resources General and Special Laws of Texas Codes of 1856 Paschal's Digest Penal Code revision research guide Code of Criminal Procedure guide Deceptive Trade Practices Act Impeachment of O.P. Carrillo Gubernatorial inauguration materials Water resources research guide School finance litigation archive
Frequently Asked Questions Contacting your legislator Texas bill status State agency hotlines & citizen   assistance Texas legislative agencies &   process Other libraries Public policy resources

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overviewprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

House Committee on County Affairs - 68th R.S. (1983)

Committee Members
Gary Thompson, Chair
J.W. Buchanan, Vice Chair
Foster Whaley, Chair - Budget & Oversight
Bob Barton, Jr.
Steve Carriker
Bill Carter
Reby Cary
Billy Clemons
Jim Crockett
Robert Eckels
Arves E. Jones
Walter Martinez
Jim Parker
Larry Don Shaw
Leroy J. Wieting
C. K. 'Chock' Word
• To monitor all activities and have budget oversight responsibilities for those agencies, boards and commissions as listed in Rule 3, Section 5.
• To examine county ordinance-making authority and its ramifications.
• To classify, investigate, and analyze county law as it presently exists.
• To investigate the various sources of revenue that counties currently have.
• To examine the impact of the recent U.S. Supreme Court decision, revenues regarding tax exempt status of federal securities on county revenues.
• In cooperation with the House Committee on Urban Affairs and the House-Senate Joint Committee on Indigent Health Care, study the impact of indigent health care on county government.
• Conduct a mid-course review of the activities to date of the Texas Low-level Radioactive Waste Disposal Authority (TLLRWDA) and take testimony and gather evidence from interested public officials and private citizens on the matter of low-level nuclear waste disposal in Texas.

Leroy Wieting (Member) resigned 3/31/1984.
Bill Carter appointed 5/4/1984. (Press Release issued by Gibson D. (Gib) Lewis, Speaker of the Texas House of Represenatives, May 4, 1984. See House Speaker Lewis Appointments, L1801.1 P926a 1985-92 2.)

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.