Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index

Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

Legislative clips Legislative clips archive Texas media links Current articles Texshare databases New books New & Noteworthy
Legislative Archive System Index to Sections Affected Conference committee reports Constitutional amendments Vetoes State budget Redistricting information Signed copies of bills Statutory revision Texas law timeline Water law timeline Statute publication dates Legislative intent guide
Texas Legislators: Past & Present Governors of Texas Lt. Governors and Speakers Senate Presidents Pro Tempore Senate & House seniority Member statistics Chief Elected Officials Texas legislators on Twitter
Sessions and years Bill statistics Member statistics Bill effective dates Legislative deadlines Session summaries Special sessions Legislative staff lists
Today's meetings Meetings by date Standing committees Committees by session Committee search Legislative reports Committee minutes Standing committee appointments
Library catalog House & Senate Journals House & Senate Rules Parliamentary resources General and Special Laws of Texas Codes of 1856 Paschal's Digest Penal Code revision research guide Code of Criminal Procedure guide Deceptive Trade Practices Act Impeachment of O.P. Carrillo Gubernatorial inauguration materials Water resources research guide School finance litigation archive
Frequently Asked Questions Contacting your legislator Texas bill status State agency hotlines & citizen   assistance Texas legislative agencies &   process Other libraries Public policy resources

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overviewprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

Tax Survey Committee - 42nd R.S. (1931)

Committee Members
Benjamin Grady Oneal, Chair
Charles Salter Gainer, Vice Chair
Elbert McBee Barron
Victor Byron Gilbert
George Clarence Moffett
Ferdinand Carl Weinert
W. Albert Williamson
• Study the tax laws and determine how they could be equalized within the spirit provided in the State Constitution that "taxes shall be equal and uniform".*

Charged in SCR6 introduced on 8/3/1931. S.J. of Tex., 42nd Leg., 1st C.S., 592. Committee called Legislative Tax Survey Committee in SCR6. Calls for the report to be made to the 43rd Legislature.
Senate committee members appointed by the Lieutenant Governor on 8/12/1931. S.J. of Tex., 42nd Leg., 1st C.S., 776. [Printing error in the journal; says SCR7 instead of SCR6]
House committee members appointed by the Speaker on 8/19/1931. H.J. of Tex., 42nd Leg., 1st C.S., 396
Officers elected by the committee in the front of the report as Ben G. Oneal, Chairman; Charles S. Gainer, Vice Chairman; Elbert M. Barron, Secretary.
Four copies of the final report can be found in the LRL collection at T350.8, T199 1931.

* This represents an abstract of the report contents. Charge text is incomplete or unavailable.

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.