Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index

Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

Legislative clips Legislative clips archive Texas media links Current articles Texshare databases New books New & Noteworthy
Legislative Archive System Index to Sections Affected Conference committee reports Constitutional amendments Vetoes State budget Redistricting information Signed copies of bills Statutory revision Texas law timeline Water law timeline Statute publication dates Legislative intent guide
Texas Legislators: Past & Present Governors of Texas Lt. Governors and Speakers Senate Presidents Pro Tempore Senate & House seniority Member statistics Chief Elected Officials Texas legislators on Twitter
Sessions and years Bill statistics Member statistics Bill effective dates Legislative deadlines Session summaries Special sessions Legislative staff lists
Today's meetings Meetings by date Standing committees Committees by session Committee search Legislative reports Committee minutes Standing committee appointments
Library catalog House & Senate Journals House & Senate Rules Parliamentary resources General and Special Laws of Texas Codes of 1856 Paschal's Digest Penal Code revision research guide Code of Criminal Procedure guide Deceptive Trade Practices Act Impeachment of O.P. Carrillo Gubernatorial inauguration materials Water resources research guide School finance litigation archive
Frequently Asked Questions Contacting your legislator Texas bill status State agency hotlines & citizen   assistance Texas legislative agencies &   process Other libraries Public policy resources

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overviewprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

House Committee on Agriculture and Livestock - 68th R.S. (1983)

Committee Members
Robert Saunders, Chair
Leroy J. Wieting, Chair
Phyllis Robinson, Vice Chair
Robert Saunders, Vice Chair
Pete Patterson, Chair - Budget & Oversight
Steve Carriker
Robert Earley
Bruce Gibson
Dudley Harrison
L.B. Kubiak
Neeley C. Lewis
D.R. 'Tom' Uher
• To monitor all activities and have budget oversight responsibilities for those agencies, boards and commissions as listed in Rule 3, Section 3.
• To study the content and quality of milk as it is sold at the retail level in Texas.
• To examine the utilization of computers to increase the efficiency of agricultural operations.
• To study contagious animal diseases including Laryngotracheitis (poultry), Pseudo-rabies (swine), and Brucellosis (cattle).
• To study the cane borer infestation in the Rio Grande Valley.
• To examine the economic feasibility of the conversion irrigated farmland in West Texas to water-efficient crops and/or dryland farming.
• To examine the role of the state in the development of farm industries in Texas, including shrimp and catfish farming.

Leroy Wieting (Chair) resigned 3/31/1984.
Neeley Lewis (Member) appointed March 1984. (Press Release, Speaker of the House Gibson D. (Gib) Lewis, March 30, 1984. See House Speaker Lewis Appointments, L1801.1 P926a 1985-92 2.)
Roberts Saunders promoted to Chair and Phyllis Robinson promoted to Vice Chair, April 2, 1984. (Press Release, Speaker of the House Gibson D. (Gib) Lewis, April 2, 1984. See House Speaker Lewis Appointments, L1801.1 P926a 1985-92 2.)
Robert Earley (Member) appointed May 1984. (Press Release, Speaker of the House Gibson D. (Gib) Lewis, May 29, 1984. See House Speaker Lewis Appointments, L1801.1 P926a 1985-92 2.)
Bruce Gibson is listed as a committee member in Index to Interim Committees from the 67th & 68th Legislatures, however, his name does not appear in the report.

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.