Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index

Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

Legislative clips Legislative clips archive Texas media links Current articles Texshare databases New books New & Noteworthy
Legislative Archive System Index to Sections Affected Conference committee reports Constitutional amendments Vetoes State budget Redistricting information Signed copies of bills Statutory revision Texas law timeline Water law timeline Statute publication dates Legislative intent guide
Texas Legislators: Past & Present Governors of Texas Lt. Governors and Speakers Senate Presidents Pro Tempore Senate & House seniority Member statistics Chief Elected Officials Texas legislators on Twitter
Sessions and years Bill statistics Member statistics Bill effective dates Legislative deadlines Session summaries Special sessions Legislative staff lists
Today's meetings Meetings by date Standing committees Committees by session Committee search Legislative reports Committee minutes Standing committee appointments
Library catalog House & Senate Journals House & Senate Rules Parliamentary resources General and Special Laws of Texas Codes of 1856 Paschal's Digest Penal Code revision research guide Code of Criminal Procedure guide Deceptive Trade Practices Act Impeachment of O.P. Carrillo Gubernatorial inauguration materials Water resources research guide School finance litigation archive
Frequently Asked Questions Contacting your legislator Texas bill status State agency hotlines & citizen   assistance Texas legislative agencies &   process Other libraries Public policy resources

LRL Home - Sessions - Sessions and years - Session snapshotprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

79th Regular Session
January 11, 2005 - May 30, 2005


Governor: Rick Perry -  Vetoes

Lieutenant Governor: David Dewhurst

Speaker(s) of the House: Tom Craddick  - (Proclamations)


The House Journal and Senate Journal for the 79th Regular Session are available online.

House Rules (79th R.S.)
Senate Rules (79th R.S.)

Staff Directories for the 79th Regular Session
House Research Organization. Legislative Staff: 79th Legislature

Bill statistics for the 79th Legislature, Regular Session

Filed 3592 250 102 2316 1892 43 43 1109 5484 9347
Passed 876 171 5 2269 513 27 4 1105 1389 4970
Vetoed 8 0 0 0 12 0 0 0 20 20

Membership statistics for the 79th Legislature

Description House
Male 118 27 145
Female 31 4 35
Party affiliation
Democrat 63 12 75
Republican 86 19 105
Incumbents 132 31 163
Freshmen 16 0 16
Under 30 3 0 3
30 - 39 20 0 20
40 - 49 45 5 50
50 - 59 34 22 56
60 - 69 39 4 43
70 and over 8 0 8

* Gender, party affiliation, and age calculations are based on the membership as of the first day of session, 01/11/05.
** Incumbent totals include members who served the previous session. Freshman totals include members whose first terms began the first day of session: 01/11/05. Not included as incumbent or freshman:
Rep. Tracy King (first served in 74th session)
*** Elizabeth Ames-Jones was elected to the 79th House of Representatives, but was not sworn in. She is not included in the statistics above.
***** Melissa Noriega was sworn in on January 11, 2005 as a temporary acting representative to serve as a replacement for Rep. Rick Noriega under Article XVI, Section 72 of the Texas Constitution. The chart above includes statistics for Rep. Rick Noriega only.

Sources: Office of the Secretary of the Senate, Texas Senate and Office of the Chief Clerk, Texas House of Representatives