Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overviewprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

House Committee on Elections - 67th R.S. (1981)

Committee Members
Gerald Hill, Chair
Bob Ware, Vice Chair
Jay Gibson, Chair - Budget & Oversight
Larry Browder
Debra Danburg
Robert C. 'Frank' Gaston
Jim Horn
Susan Gurley McBee
Larry Don Shaw
Ralph Wallace
Leroy J. Wieting
  • Oversight functions shall be conducted for all appropriations-related actions of those agencies assigned to this committee for appropriative purposes during the 67th Regular Session of the Legislature. Close scrutiny should be given to each agency to ascertain if legislative intent is being carried out in the rules promulgated by the agency and if the rules are feasible and practical in their application. These agencies include:
    Secretary of State - partial.
  • Monitor and assist the Legislative Council in preparing for introduction into the 68th Legislature a bill which recodifies the Election Code.
  • Study the voting rights procedures for overseas citizens and military personnel.
  • Study the relationship between party rules and state law in Texas.

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.