Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index

Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

Legislative clips Legislative clips archive Texas media links Current articles Texshare databases New books New & Noteworthy
Legislative Archive System Index to Sections Affected Conference committee reports Constitutional amendments Vetoes State budget Redistricting information Signed copies of bills Statutory revision Texas law timeline Water law timeline Statute publication dates Legislative intent guide
Texas Legislators: Past & Present Governors of Texas Lt. Governors and Speakers Senate Presidents Pro Tempore Senate & House seniority Member statistics Chief Elected Officials Texas legislators on Twitter
Sessions and years Bill statistics Member statistics Bill effective dates Legislative deadlines Session summaries Special sessions Legislative staff lists
Today's meetings Meetings by date Standing committees Committees by session Committee search Legislative reports Committee minutes Standing committee appointments
Library catalog House & Senate Journals House & Senate Rules Parliamentary resources General and Special Laws of Texas Codes of 1856 Paschal's Digest Penal Code revision research guide Code of Criminal Procedure guide Deceptive Trade Practices Act Impeachment of O.P. Carrillo Gubernatorial inauguration materials Water resources research guide School finance litigation archive
Frequently Asked Questions Contacting your legislator Texas bill status State agency hotlines & citizen   assistance Texas legislative agencies &   process Other libraries Public policy resources

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overviewprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

House Committee on Higher Education - 67th R.S. (1981)

Committee Members
Wilhelmina Delco, Chair
David Cain, Vice Chair
Ronald D. Coleman, Chair - Budget & Oversight
Bo Crawford, Chair - Budget & Oversight
Jerry A. Cockerham
Buck Florence
Robert C. 'Frank' Gaston
Jim Horn
Jimmy Mankins
Michael W. Martin
René O. Oliveira
Albert Price
Bob Simpson
Jack Vowell
Steven Wolens
• Examine alternative tuition policies and recommendations to the current tuition charged by public institutions of higher education. In addition, make a statistical analysis of such costs in Texas as compared to those of other states.
• Conduct an overview investigation off campus instruction offered by public junior colleges and universities.
• Study the need for salary supplements for college and university presidents, faculty development, early retirement programs, and improved faculty salaries with emphasis on merit increases.
• Develop a clear definition of which revenues received by institutions of higher education should be deposited to the State Treasury. A determination of what constitutes local funds vs. state funds should be made.
• Determine whether State medical schools and health science centers should be required to deposit part or all of their local receipts to the State Treasury.
• Oversight functions shall be conducted for all appropriations-related actions of those agencies assigned to this committee for appropriative purposes during the 67th Regular Session of the Legislature.

Michael Martin (Member) resigned 4/22/1982.
Jimmy Mankins (Member) appointed 5/24/1982. Memorandum, Billy Clayton, Speaker of the Texas House of Representatives, May 24, 1982. See House Speaker Clayton Appointments, L1801.1 P926a 1979-82.)
Rene Oliveira is listed as a committee member on the interim report.
Steve Wolens is not listed as a committee member on the interim report.

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.