Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index

Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

Legislative clips Legislative clips archive Texas media links Current articles Texshare databases New books New & Noteworthy
Legislative Archive System Index to Sections Affected Conference committee reports Constitutional amendments Vetoes State budget Redistricting information Signed copies of bills Statutory revision Texas law timeline Water law timeline Statute publication dates Legislative intent guide
Texas Legislators: Past & Present Governors of Texas Lt. Governors and Speakers Senate Presidents Pro Tempore Senate & House seniority Member statistics Chief Elected Officials Texas legislators on Twitter
Sessions and years Bill statistics Member statistics Bill effective dates Legislative deadlines Session summaries Special sessions Legislative staff lists
Today's meetings Meetings by date Standing committees Committees by session Committee search Legislative reports Committee minutes Standing committee appointments
Library catalog House & Senate Journals House & Senate Rules Parliamentary resources General and Special Laws of Texas Codes of 1856 Paschal's Digest Penal Code revision research guide Code of Criminal Procedure guide Deceptive Trade Practices Act Impeachment of O.P. Carrillo Gubernatorial inauguration materials Water resources research guide School finance litigation archive
Frequently Asked Questions Contacting your legislator Texas bill status State agency hotlines & citizen   assistance Texas legislative agencies &   process Other libraries Public policy resources

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overviewprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

House Committee on Human Services - 67th R.S. (1981)

Committee Members
Craig A. Washington, Chair
Bill Clark, Vice Chair
Carlyle Smith, Chair - Budget & Oversight
Erwin W. Barton
Gene Green
Clint Hackney
Jimmy Mankins
Michael W. Martin
Anthony Polumbo
Jack Vowell
• Oversight functions shall be conducted for all appropriations-related actions of those agencies assigned to this committee for appropriative purposes during the 67th Regular Session of the Legislature. In addition, a study should be made of the impact of any federal cuts, and the differences in the operation aspect of the agencies under block vs. categorical grants. These agencies include:
Department of Human Resources
Texas Commission for the Blind
Texas Commission for the Deaf
Texas Department of Community Affairs
Texas Rehabilitation Commission
Board of Licensure of Nursing Home Administrators
Department of Aging
The Veterans Affairs Commission
• Track the development of the newly created Department of Aging. Investigate protective services for the elderly, currently provided by Department of Human Resources, and determine whether the Department of Aging could effectively take over those duties.
• Develop background information on the general subject area of battered children and conduct and investigation into protective services for children provided by state agencies. (Do agencies overlap in authority, number of calls answered per month, effective results, justification or program, etc.)
• Conduct and in-depth study of the AFDC program. Look at descriptive data such as turnover rate, ethnic breakdown, percentage of fraud. Consider the effect of abolishment of ceiling on payments if amendment passes in November of 1982.
• Monitor the development of outdoor training programs under the Commission for the Deaf.
• Study the detrimental effects of formaldehyde use to determine what actions need to be taken to protect the health of the general public.
• Monitor state procurement and program changes of Medicaid Services in Texas.
• Study activities and programs of the Texas Commission for the Blind including the Commission's efficiency in relation to its contracted services.
• Examine the possibility of consolidating the administration and delivery of human services programs.

Michael Martin (Member) resigned 4/22/1982.
Jimmy Mankins (Member) appointed 5/24/1982. Memorandum, Billy Clayton, Speaker of the Texas House of Representatives, May 24, 1982. See House Speaker Clayton Appointments, L1801.1 P926a 1979-82.)

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.