Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index

Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

Legislative clips Legislative clips archive Texas media links Current articles Texshare databases New books New & Noteworthy
Legislative Archive System Index to Sections Affected Conference committee reports Constitutional amendments Vetoes State budget Redistricting information Signed copies of bills Statutory revision Texas law timeline Water law timeline Statute publication dates Legislative intent guide
Texas Legislators: Past & Present Governors of Texas Lt. Governors and Speakers Senate Presidents Pro Tempore Senate & House seniority Member statistics Chief Elected Officials Texas legislators on Twitter
Sessions and years Bill statistics Member statistics Bill effective dates Legislative deadlines Session summaries Special sessions Legislative staff lists
Today's meetings Meetings by date Standing committees Committees by session Committee search Legislative reports Committee minutes Standing committee appointments
Library catalog House & Senate Journals House & Senate Rules Parliamentary resources General and Special Laws of Texas Codes of 1856 Paschal's Digest Penal Code revision research guide Code of Criminal Procedure guide Deceptive Trade Practices Act Impeachment of O.P. Carrillo Gubernatorial inauguration materials Water resources research guide School finance litigation archive
Frequently Asked Questions Contacting your legislator Texas bill status State agency hotlines & citizen   assistance Texas legislative agencies &   process Other libraries Public policy resources

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overviewprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

Senate Committee on Judiciary - 12th 1st C.S. (1870)

Committee Members
Mijamin Priest, Chair
E.L. Alford
Marmion Henry Bowers
Edward Thomas Broughton, Jr.
Ebenezer Lafayette Dohoney
James Postell Douglas
Webster Flanagan
J.S. Mills
William Henry Parsons
Edward Bradford Pickett
George T. Ruby
• Investigate question of whether J.M. Thurmond has resigned as judge of the 31st Judicial District.

Lieutenant Governor appointed members of the standing Committee on Judiciary on 1/19/1871 naming Fountain as chair and Parsons, Bowers, Hall, Saylor, Pickett, Dohoney, and Ruby as members. Petition by J.M. Thurmond and letter from Governor Edmund J. Davis appear at S.J. of Tex., 12th Leg., R.S. 149 (1871) and are restated as part of the Committee's report. On motion of Senator Saylor, petition and letter from Governor referred to Committee on Judiciary 2/3/1871. Senate vote on motion found at S.J. of Tex., 12th Leg., R.S. 304 (1871) and at S.J. of Tex., 12th Leg., R.S. 308 (1871)
12th Flanagan, Douglas, Mills and Broughton Added to by Adjourned Session, page 22 by motion to add all lawyers to the Judiciary committee.

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.