Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index

Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

Legislative clips Legislative clips archive Texas media links Current articles Texshare databases New books New & Noteworthy
Legislative Archive System Index to Sections Affected Conference committee reports Constitutional amendments Vetoes State budget Redistricting information Signed copies of bills Statutory revision Texas law timeline Water law timeline Statute publication dates Legislative intent guide
Texas Legislators: Past & Present Governors of Texas Lt. Governors and Speakers Senate Presidents Pro Tempore Senate & House seniority Member statistics Chief Elected Officials Texas legislators on Twitter
Sessions and years Bill statistics Member statistics Bill effective dates Legislative deadlines Session summaries Special sessions Legislative staff lists
Today's meetings Meetings by date Standing committees Committees by session Committee search Legislative reports Committee minutes Standing committee appointments
Library catalog House & Senate Journals House & Senate Rules Parliamentary resources General and Special Laws of Texas Codes of 1856 Paschal's Digest Penal Code revision research guide Code of Criminal Procedure guide Deceptive Trade Practices Act Impeachment of O.P. Carrillo Gubernatorial inauguration materials Water resources research guide School finance litigation archive
Frequently Asked Questions Contacting your legislator Texas bill status State agency hotlines & citizen   assistance Texas legislative agencies &   process Other libraries Public policy resources

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overviewprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

Insurance Code - 51st R.S. (1949)

Committee Members
Joseph Daniel Carter
Truett Davis Clifton
Louie D. Godard
Fred R. Harris
Grady Hazlewood
James McDonald Heflin
Keith Franklin Kelly
Henry Grady Lehman
Warren Swann McDonald
William T. 'Bill' Moore
George C. Morris
• Study the statutes of this State affecting the business of insurance, and to recommend an arrangement of the statutes in appropriate chapters and articles under a single code or title, so that the whole, as far as is practicable, shall be clear, concise, adequate and consistent; that in preparation of recommendations the committee shall seek out and remove the present overlapping and inconsistent provisions; that it shall compare the insurance codes recently enacted in other states and adopt their more desirable features; that it shall supplement and add to the articles which the committee now considers inadequate for the protection of the public and efficient administration and supervision of the insurers; and make such editorial changes in context as is necessary in its opinion to accomplish the purposes of its study.

Appointed pursuant to HCR 35. Senate appointments announced 7/6/1949. Members listed in Insurance Code Committee Materials, 1949 and House Journal, 52nd Legislature, p. 435. Insurance Commissioner members: George B. Butler (Chair), Paul H. Brown, Joe P. Gibbs.

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.