Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index

Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

Legislative clips Legislative clips archive Texas media links Current articles Texshare databases New books New & Noteworthy
Legislative Archive System Index to Sections Affected Conference committee reports Constitutional amendments Vetoes State budget Redistricting information Signed copies of bills Statutory revision Texas law timeline Water law timeline Statute publication dates Legislative intent guide
Texas Legislators: Past & Present Governors of Texas Lt. Governors and Speakers Senate Presidents Pro Tempore Senate & House seniority Member statistics Chief Elected Officials Texas legislators on Twitter
Sessions and years Bill statistics Member statistics Bill effective dates Legislative deadlines Session summaries Special sessions Legislative staff lists
Today's meetings Meetings by date Standing committees Committees by session Committee search Legislative reports Committee minutes Standing committee appointments
Library catalog House & Senate Journals House & Senate Rules Parliamentary resources General and Special Laws of Texas Codes of 1856 Paschal's Digest Penal Code revision research guide Code of Criminal Procedure guide Deceptive Trade Practices Act Impeachment of O.P. Carrillo Gubernatorial inauguration materials Water resources research guide School finance litigation archive
Frequently Asked Questions Contacting your legislator Texas bill status State agency hotlines & citizen   assistance Texas legislative agencies &   process Other libraries Public policy resources

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overviewprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

House Committee on Natural Resources - 69th R.S. (1985)

Committee Members
Tom Craddick, Chair
Larry Don Shaw, Vice Chair
Gerald Geistweidt, Chair - Budget & Oversight
J.W. Buchanan
Jerry Clark
J. Kelly Godwin
Jack Harris
René O. Oliveira
Ted Roberts
Chip Staniswalis
• To study and analyze the effectiveness of techniques employed in promoting the constitutional propositions of HJR 6, 69th Legislature, Regular Session, and the concerns of the electorate when voting on major water legislation.
• To study the effectiveness of the pilot agricultural loan program.
• To study the effectiveness of the bond insurance program.
• To study and recommend enabling legislation for an agricultural loan program if the Texas Agricultural Water Conservation Bonds approved by HJR 6, 69th Legislature, Regular Session, are approved by the electorate.
• To study the availability of measures to reduce reservoir construction costs to the state and in particular the advisability of enacting legislation to defease outstanding water development bonds.
• To study the need for, and the provisions that should be included in, legislation requiring certification of water and waste analysis.
• To study the availability of water for future appropriation in major basins of the state in light of the Texas Supreme Court's decision in No. C-1620.
• To study the need to define "unappropriated water" and to amend other statutes pertaining to water rights.

A press release dated October 2, 1986 states that Larry Don Shaw (Vice Chair) resigned his membership on the Committee, and Rene Oliveira was appointed to the committee. (Press Release, Gibson D (Gib) Lewis, Speaker of the Texas House of Representatives, 10/2/1986. See House Speaker Lewis Appointments, L1801.1 P926a 1985-92 2.)
2nd C.S.: No change in committee appointments, 8/26/1986.

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.