Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index

Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

Legislative clips Legislative clips archive Texas media links Current articles Texshare databases New books New & Noteworthy
Legislative Archive System Index to Sections Affected Conference committee reports Constitutional amendments Vetoes State budget Redistricting information Signed copies of bills Statutory revision Texas law timeline Water law timeline Statute publication dates Legislative intent guide
Texas Legislators: Past & Present Governors of Texas Lt. Governors and Speakers Senate Presidents Pro Tempore Senate & House seniority Member statistics Chief Elected Officials Texas legislators on Twitter
Sessions and years Bill statistics Member statistics Bill effective dates Legislative deadlines Session summaries Special sessions Legislative staff lists
Today's meetings Meetings by date Standing committees Committees by session Committee search Legislative reports Committee minutes Standing committee appointments
Library catalog House & Senate Journals House & Senate Rules Parliamentary resources General and Special Laws of Texas Codes of 1856 Paschal's Digest Penal Code revision research guide Code of Criminal Procedure guide Deceptive Trade Practices Act Impeachment of O.P. Carrillo Gubernatorial inauguration materials Water resources research guide School finance litigation archive
Frequently Asked Questions Contacting your legislator Texas bill status State agency hotlines & citizen   assistance Texas legislative agencies &   process Other libraries Public policy resources

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overviewprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

House Committee on Judiciary - 62nd R.S. (1971)

Committee Members
L. DeWitt Hale, Chair
Renal B. Rosson, Vice Chair
Maurice Angly, Jr.
Bill Braecklein
Neil Caldwell
Price Daniel, Jr.
Dee Jon Davis
Bill Finck
Bob Hendricks
Raul L. Longoria
Tom Moore, Jr.
Menton J. Murray
Jon P. Newton
Jack Ogg
Carl Parker
Ace Pickens
Rayford Price
Robert 'Bob' Salter
H. Tati Santiesteban
Wayland A. Simmons
Charles Tupper, Jr.
• Continue the comprehensive study of the judicial system of the State of Texas which was begun under authority of HSR 400 as passed by the 61st Legislature, such study to include a comprehensive review of present procedures, case loads, and statistics, involving all courts, civil and criminal, of the State of Texas, beginning at Corporation Court and Justice Court levels and extending all the way up through County Courts, District Courts, Courts of Civil Appeals, the Court of Criminal Appeals, and the Supreme Court, with such study to include also the special courts created by the Legislature, such as Courts of Domestic Relations and Juvenile Courts.
• Include in its study of the Judicial System a comprehensive review of the structure, organization, procedures, and administration of the judicial system of the State of Texas and develop extensive programs for comprehensive judicial reform, looking toward improvements in the administration of justice in Texas, and also directing its attention toward a possible revision of Article V of the Texas Constitution.

Committee list shows membership in Regular Session and 1st-3rd C.S.
4th C.S., appointment of standing committees, 9/26/1972: Hale (Chair), Rosson (Vice-Chair), Angly, Braecklein, Caldwell, Daniel, Dee Jon Davis, Finck, Hendricks, Longoria, Tom Moore, Murray, Newton, Ogg, Carl Parker, Pickens, Powers, Salter, Santiesteban, Simmons, Tupper.
Authorized by HSR 400, 61st Legislature to undertake study of judiciary, continued by HSR 527, 62nd Legislature. See report, Streamlining the Texas Judiciary: Continuity with Change: A Report on the Texas Judiciary Based on a Four-Year Study.
Rayford Price (Member) was elected Speaker of the House on March 28, 1972. Pike Powers was appointed to the committee to fill the vacancy.
Interim study authorized by HSR 400, 61st Legislature, and continued by HSR 527, 62nd Legislature.

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.