Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index

Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

Legislative clips Legislative clips archive Texas media links Current articles Texshare databases New books New & Noteworthy
Legislative Archive System Index to Sections Affected Conference committee reports Constitutional amendments Vetoes State budget Redistricting information Signed copies of bills Statutory revision Texas law timeline Water law timeline Statute publication dates Legislative intent guide
Texas Legislators: Past & Present Governors of Texas Lt. Governors and Speakers Senate Presidents Pro Tempore Senate & House seniority Member statistics Chief Elected Officials Texas legislators on Twitter
Sessions and years Bill statistics Member statistics Bill effective dates Legislative deadlines Session summaries Special sessions Legislative staff lists
Today's meetings Meetings by date Standing committees Committees by session Committee search Legislative reports Committee minutes Standing committee appointments
Library catalog House & Senate Journals House & Senate Rules Parliamentary resources General and Special Laws of Texas Codes of 1856 Paschal's Digest Penal Code revision research guide Code of Criminal Procedure guide Deceptive Trade Practices Act Impeachment of O.P. Carrillo Gubernatorial inauguration materials Water resources research guide School finance litigation archive
Frequently Asked Questions Contacting your legislator Texas bill status State agency hotlines & citizen   assistance Texas legislative agencies &   process Other libraries Public policy resources

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overviewprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

House Committee on Appropriations - 70th R.S. (1987)

Committee Members
Jim D. Rudd, Chair
Jim Tallas, Chair
Doyle Willis, Vice Chair
Eddie Cavazos
Bill Ceverha
Paul Colbert
Frank Collazo, Jr.
Barry Connelly
Betty Denton
Orlando Garcia
Gerald Geistweidt
Chris Harris
Bill Hollowell
Cliff Johnson
Ron Lewis
Frank Madla
Roman Martinez
Mike McKinney
Jim McWilliams
Alex Moreno
Rick Perry
Larry Don Shaw
Richard A. Smith
Lou Nelle Sutton
D.R. 'Tom' Uher
Jack Vowell
Tom C. Waldrop
Foster Whaley
Ric Williamson
• To study methods of standardizing salaries and defining the responsibilities of attorneys employed by various state agencies and systems.
• To study the problem of AFDC Title IV payments in relation to the state's responsibilities regarding child support collections and the interaction with the federal government, and ways of improving the collection and enforcement of child support. (Joint study with Judiciary Committee).
• To study and review all exempt salary positions in the General Appropriations Act.
• To study the function and necessity of Councils of Government.
• To study the feasibility of developing a homogeneous bill pattern for the General Appropriations Bill.
• To study and examine the efficiencies of the National Guard Armory Board's armory locations, their statewide distribution, and the feasibility of regionalization.
• To study the economic impact of a direct voucher payment to relatives for in-home care of nursing home candidates as an alternative to nursing home placement.

No report was issued.
Dick Swift (Member) appointed June 1988. (Press Release, Speaker of the House Gibson D. (Gib) Lewis, June 29, 1988. See House Speaker Lewis Appointments, L1801.1 P926a 1985-92 2.)
Larry Don Shaw (Member) moved from district 8/12/1988. Cliff Johnson (Member) resigned 1/6/1988.

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.