Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index

Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

Legislative clips Legislative clips archive Texas media links Current articles Texshare databases New books New & Noteworthy
Legislative Archive System Index to Sections Affected Conference committee reports Constitutional amendments Vetoes State budget Redistricting information Signed copies of bills Statutory revision Texas law timeline Water law timeline Statute publication dates Legislative intent guide
Texas Legislators: Past & Present Governors of Texas Lt. Governors and Speakers Senate Presidents Pro Tempore Senate & House seniority Member statistics Chief Elected Officials Texas legislators on Twitter
Sessions and years Bill statistics Member statistics Bill effective dates Legislative deadlines Session summaries Special sessions Legislative staff lists
Today's meetings Meetings by date Standing committees Committees by session Committee search Legislative reports Committee minutes Standing committee appointments
Library catalog House & Senate Journals House & Senate Rules Parliamentary resources General and Special Laws of Texas Codes of 1856 Paschal's Digest Penal Code revision research guide Code of Criminal Procedure guide Deceptive Trade Practices Act Impeachment of O.P. Carrillo Gubernatorial inauguration materials Water resources research guide School finance litigation archive
Frequently Asked Questions Contacting your legislator Texas bill status State agency hotlines & citizen   assistance Texas legislative agencies &   process Other libraries Public policy resources

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overviewprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

House Committee on Public School Finance, Select - 78th R.S. (2003)

Committee Members
Kent Grusendorf, Chair
Vilma Luna, Vice Chair
Dennis Bonnen
Dan Branch
Dianne White Delisi
Harold V. Dutton, Jr.
Rob Eissler
Timoteo Garza
Helen Giddings
Bob Griggs
Peggy Hamric
Talmadge Heflin
Harvey Hilderbran
Fred Hill
Ruben Hope, Jr.
Carl Isett
Elizabeth Ames Jones
Jim Keffer
Mike Krusee
Glenn Lewis
Jerry Madden
Kenny Marchant
Brian McCall
René O. Oliveira
Jim Pitts
Allan Ritter
David Swinford
Mike Villarreal
Ron Wilson
• Devise a school finance system that promotes success for all Texas children.
• Use the constitutional requirements outlined in Edgewood IV as a starting point for developing a new school finance system; Texas cannot afford to retreat on equity.
• Include rational cost adjustments for uncontrollable variations in the costs of education due to geography, scale, and the needs of students.
• Create incentives for improved student performance and cost-effective operation.
• Recommend fairer methods of finance that will sustain Texas schools for the long term and that will substantially increase the state's share of funding for public education.

Appointed by Speaker proclamation 4/29/2003.
Representatives Bonnen, Dutton, Eissler, Hilderbran, Isett, and McCall appointed by the Speaker 6/23/03.
Ron Wilson (Member) resigned July 31, 2004.

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.