Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index

Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

Legislative clips Legislative clips archive Texas media links Current articles Texshare databases New books New & Noteworthy
Legislative Archive System Index to Sections Affected Conference committee reports Constitutional amendments Vetoes State budget Redistricting information Signed copies of bills Statutory revision Texas law timeline Water law timeline Statute publication dates Legislative intent guide
Texas Legislators: Past & Present Governors of Texas Lt. Governors and Speakers Senate Presidents Pro Tempore Senate & House seniority Member statistics Chief Elected Officials Texas legislators on Twitter
Sessions and years Bill statistics Member statistics Bill effective dates Legislative deadlines Session summaries Special sessions Legislative staff lists
Today's meetings Meetings by date Standing committees Committees by session Committee search Legislative reports Committee minutes Standing committee appointments
Library catalog House & Senate Journals House & Senate Rules Parliamentary resources General and Special Laws of Texas Codes of 1856 Paschal's Digest Penal Code revision research guide Code of Criminal Procedure guide Deceptive Trade Practices Act Impeachment of O.P. Carrillo Gubernatorial inauguration materials Water resources research guide School finance litigation archive
Frequently Asked Questions Contacting your legislator Texas bill status State agency hotlines & citizen   assistance Texas legislative agencies &   process Other libraries Public policy resources

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overviewprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

Exterminating Pink Boll Worm, Investigate - 36th R.S. (1919)

Committee Members
Robert Lee McDowra, Chair
William Harrison Bledsoe, Vice Chair
George William Dayton
William Luther Dean
Flavius Marion Gibson
John Thomas Hamilton
Herman Julius Miller
Zachariah Butler Moon
James Louis Quicksall
John Miller Raiden
B.H. Smith
• Providing for an inquiry into the pink boll worm infestation in Texas and the need and extent of protective measures against this cotton pest.

Charged in HCR1 (passed 5/21/1920) which provided authority for the committee to investigate the pink boll worm infestation.
Committee members appointed by the joint committee chair, 5/24/1920. S.J. of Tex. suppl., 36th Leg., 3rd C.S., 4 (1920) were Sen. Gibson, Sen. Dean, Rep. Smith, Rep. Raiden, and Rep. Quicksall.
Sen. Bledsoe was nominated as the vice-chairman of the committee, 5/24/1920. S.J. of Tex. suppl., 36th Leg., 3rd C.S., 4 (1920)
The report was signed by Sen. Dayton, Sen. Gibson, Rep. McDowra (chair), Rep. Miller of Austin, Rep. Moon, and Rep. Hamilton. H.J. of Tex., 36th Leg., 3rd C.S., 171 (1920)
Includes letter from Gov. W.P. Hobby with appendices explaining the need for the Legisature to investigate this problem. H.J. of Tex., 36th Leg., 3rd C.S., 5 (1920)
Also includes address by Dr. Marlatt, U.S. Secretary of Agriculture. H.J. of Tex., 36th Leg., 3rd C.S., 50 (1920)
Report also printed in the Senate journal of 6/3/1920, pp. 157-158. S.J. of Tex., 36th Leg., 3rd C.S., 157 (1920)

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.