Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research
Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overviewprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

House Committee on Privileges, Suffrage and Elections - 41st R.S. (1929)

Committee Members
Ed R. Sinks, Chair
Cecil Storey, Vice Chair
Selby Evans Barnett
Thomas R. Bond
Edwin Donald Dunlap
Harry Newton Graves
James Wright Harper
Charles Harraway Jenkins
Jack Keller
Green Young Lee
Jacob Jackson Loy
Luke Mankin
Edward Thad Murphy
Bowen Pope
Phillip Luther Sanders
Edgar Poe Shelton
J. Lewis Thompson
Henry Albert Turner
John Holland Veatch
Simeon Rufus Williams
Dewey Young
  • Investigate the contest between E.M. Smith and W.R. Montgomery for the seat from Hidalgo County.*
  • Examine contest between H.H. Wallace and A.S. Johnson for the office of Representative for the Thirty-second Legislative District.*

Appointed subcommittee to go to Hidalgo County and investigate the charges in Smith/Montgomery election. Subcommittee consisted of Rep. Storey, chair, Rep. Barnett, Rep. Mankin, Rep. Murphy, Rep. Sanders, Rep. Turner, and Rep. Williams of Sabine. H.J. of Tex., 41st R.S., 293 (1929)
Includes communication from the Attorney General concerning the powers of the subcommittee. H.J. of Tex., 41st Leg., R.S., 391 (1929)
Includes information on protest of the committee's action in the Smith/Montgomery election by some of the citizens of Hidalgo County. H.J. of Tex., 41st Leg., R.S., (1929)
Wallace v. Johnson: Majority report signed by Sinks, Storey, Young, Mankin, Murphy, Graves of Williamson, Bond, Barnett, Lee, Sanders, Keller, Thompson, Turner, Dunlap, Veatch, and Williams of Sabine. Minority report signed by Harper, Loy, Opoe of Jones, Jenkins, Shelton, and Hays. H.J. of Tex., 41st Leg., R.S., 253 (1929)

* This represents an abstract of the report contents. Charge text is incomplete or unavailable.

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.