Legislative Reference Library of Texas About the library Site Index

Legislative Reference Library of Texas
your partner in legislative research

Legislative clips Legislative clips archive Texas media links Current articles Texshare databases New books New & Noteworthy
Legislative Archive System Index to Sections Affected Conference committee reports Constitutional amendments Vetoes State budget Redistricting information Signed copies of bills Statutory revision Texas law timeline Water law timeline Statute publication dates Legislative intent guide
Texas Legislators: Past & Present Governors of Texas Lt. Governors and Speakers Senate Presidents Pro Tempore Senate & House seniority Member statistics Chief Elected Officials Texas legislators on Twitter
Sessions and years Bill statistics Member statistics Bill effective dates Legislative deadlines Session summaries Special sessions Legislative staff lists
Today's meetings Meetings by date Standing committees Committees by session Committee search Legislative reports Committee minutes Standing committee appointments
Library catalog House & Senate Journals House & Senate Rules Parliamentary resources General and Special Laws of Texas Codes of 1856 Paschal's Digest Penal Code revision research guide Code of Criminal Procedure guide Deceptive Trade Practices Act Impeachment of O.P. Carrillo Gubernatorial inauguration materials Water resources research guide School finance litigation archive
Frequently Asked Questions Contacting your legislator Texas bill status State agency hotlines & citizen   assistance Texas legislative agencies &   process Other libraries Public policy resources

LRL Home - Committees - Committee overviewprinter friendly versionreturn to screen view

Site for State Park - 37th R.S. (1921)

Committee Members
I.D. Fairchild, Chair
John Heywood Bailey
Henry Lewis Darwin
Thomas Whitfield Davidson
John Davis
Richard Moberley Dudley
James William Hall
Samuel Cabell Lackey
Dan Scott McMillin
John Erskell Quaid
Cyrus Fleetwood Richards
Richard Ernest Seagler
Amon Robert Shearer
Charles Graham Thomas
Newton Barber Williams
Ashley Elijah Wood
Raymond Brooks
Lynch Davidson
• Inspect Palo Duro Canyon, the Davis Mountains, and the Frio Canyon for the purpose of determining their eligibility as sites for state parks.*

Davis Mountain site proposed in HCR 17 by Stewart; Frio Canyon site proposed in HCR 19 by Stewart, both from 37th Leg., 1st C.S. Speaker appointed committee 8/16/1923 for Davis Mountain site; Lieutenant Governor appointed committee 8/15/1923 for Davis Mountain site. Davis Mountain site again proposed in HCR 2 by Stewart from 37th Leg., 2nd C.S. Frio Canyon site again proposed in HR by Stewart from 37th Leg., 2nd C.S. with provision naming committee which would investigate Davis Mountain site be same committee to investigate Frio Canyon site. Speaker appointed committee for the Davis Mountain site on 8/23/1923. Appointed by Lieutenant Governor 8/23/1923 pursuant to SR2a by Dudley in 37th Leg., 2nd C.S. Report of committee indicates a joint committee pursuant to all these resolutions investigated the Davis Mountain site, the Frio Canyon site, and the Palo Duro Canyon site. Both Lieutenant Governor Davidson and Sen. Bailey appointed to committee but were unable to serve and were replaced by Sen. McMillin and Sen. Richards. Rep. J.W. Hall and Rep. John Davis appointed to committee but were unable to serve and were replaced by Rep. Lackey and Rep. Quaid. Sen. Fairchild elected chair at first meeting. Report notes that Raymond Brooks, employed by a newspaper and secretary of the Board of Managers of the State Railroad, served as secretary of the committee.

* This represents an abstract of the report contents. Charge text is incomplete or unavailable.

Information on this website is provided as a public service by the Legislative Reference Library. The Legislative Reference Library makes no representation as to its completeness or accuracy and makes no warranty in regard to its use. Users assume all risk of reliance on the information included on this site.