Below you'll find a preview of the 86th Texas Legislature. New and returning members will be sworn in on January 8, 2019, the opening day of the regular session.


Membership statistics for previous sessions are available on the library's Member statistics page.


Summary of the 86th Legislature

Party House Senate Overall
Democrat 64 12 76
Republican 83 19 102
Total 147 31 178


Gender House Senate Overall
Women 33 9 42
Men 114 22 136
Total 147 31 178


Members not returning to the 86th Texas Legislature

Not Returning Replacement
Sen. Konni Burton (R) Beverly Powell (D)
Sen. Craig Estes (R) Pat Fallon (R)
Sen. Sylvia Garcia (D) Carol Alvarado (D)
Sen. Don Huffines (R) Nathan Johnson (D)
Sen. Van Taylor (R) Angela Paxton (R)
Sen. Carlos Uresti (D) Pete Flores (R)
Rep. Rodney Anderson (R) Thresa "Terry" Meza (D)
Rep. Roberto Alonzo (D) Jessica González (D)
Rep. Carol Alvarado (D)   Subject to special election
Rep. Diana Arévalo (D) Trey Martinez Fischer (D)
Rep. Cindy Burkett (R) Rhetta Andrews Bowers (D)
Rep. Byron Cook (R) Cody Harris (R)
Rep. Scott Cosper (R) Brad Buckley (R)
Rep. Tony Dale (R) John H Bucy III (D)
Rep. Dawnna Dukes (D) Sheryl Cole (D)
Rep. Gary Elkins (R) Jon E. Rosenthal (D)
Rep. Wayne Faircloth (R) Mayes Middleton (R)
Rep. Pat Fallon (R) Jared Patterson (R)
Rep. Helen Giddings (D) Carl Sherman (D)
Rep. Larry Gonzales (R) James Talarico (D)
Rep. Lance Gooden (R) Keith Bell (R)
Rep. Jason Isaac (R) Erin Zwiener (D)
Rep. Mark Keough (R) Steve Toth (R)
Rep. Linda Koop (R) Ana-Maria Ramos (D)
Rep. Jodie Laubenberg (R) Candy Noble (R)
Rep. René Oliveira (D) Alex Dominguez (D)
Rep. Larry Phillips (R) Reggie Smith (R)
Rep. Joe Pickett (D) Art Fierro (D)
Rep. Matt Rinaldi (R) Julie Johnson (D)
Rep. Justin Rodriguez (D)   Subject to special election
Rep. Kevin Roberts (R) E. Sam Harless (R)
Rep. Mike Schofield (R) Gina Calanni (D)
Rep. Leighton Schubert (R) Ben Leman (R)
Rep. Ron Simmons (R) Michelle Beckley (D)
Rep. Joe Straus (R) Steve Allison (R)
Rep. Tomas Uresti (D) Leo Pacheco (D)
Rep. Jason Villalba (R) John Turner (D)
Rep. Paul Workman (R) Vikki Goodwin (D)


Photos of incoming legislators sourced from their respective campaign websites. Post updated 1/30/19 to reflect the results of the House District 79 special election to fill Rep. Pickett's seat. Post updated 1/8/19 to reflect the scheduled February 12 special election to fill the HD 125 seat vacated by Rep. Justin Rodriguez. Post updated 12/18/18 and 12/27/18 to reflect the indicated resignation of Rep. Joe Pickett (HD 79) and the scheduled January 29 special elections to fill the HD 145 (formerly held by Carol Alvarado) and HD 79 seats. Post updated 12/12/18 to reflect the results of the Senate District 6 special election to fill U.S. Representative-elect Sylvia Garcia's vacated seat.