Below is a list of members (as of January 10, 2020) not returning to the 87th Texas Legislature in their current offices. Note that regardless of election outcomes, all of these legislators will keep their respective seats until January 2021, unless they resign earlier.

To learn more about who will be on the primary ballots, information about candidates by county and party is available on the Texas Secretary of State's candidate ballot order page.


Rep. César Blanco Running for Texas Senate
Rep. Dwayne Bohac Retiring
Rep. Dennis Bonnen Retiring
Rep. Jessica Farrar Resigned effective 9/30/2019
Rep. Eric Johnson Elected Mayor of Dallas, sworn in 6/17/2019
Rep. Mike Lang Running for Hood County Commissioner
Rep. Rick Miller Retiring
Rep. Poncho Nevárez Retiring
Rep. Jonathan Stickland Retiring
Rep. John Wray Retiring
Rep. Bill Zedler Retiring
Rep. John Zerwas Retiring to take new position as Executive Vice Chancellor of Health Affairs, The University of Texas System; resignation effective 9/30/19
Sen. José Rodríguez Retiring